The Best Ugly Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I discovered this "trick" about 7 years ago and will never go back! It is the juiciest and best tasting bird you will ever have. Not to mention the easiest. No laboring over a hot oven basting the turkey over and over again. If I am not hosting, I am a bit pushy and insist on the host doing it this way. I have people calling me asking how they can get their turkey so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I am rating this for the method of baking breast side down. I have my own method of seasoning that I use, so I can't rate this on taste. I only cook "breast side down" for an hour to hour and a half, as it keeps the breast looking nicer. I also put my seasonings in butter and place pieces of the seasoned butter on top of my stuffing, so when it's upside down, it's melting into the meat and my turkey always turns out moist and very flavorful. I also separate the skin on the breast and rub my butter mixed with seasonings underneath. I never use measurements, but perhaps I will this year, so I can post it on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made this for Christmas 08. It was awesome. I added a secret ingrediant (about 10 ounes of caffeine free citris soda (7-up). I also cooked it in a turkey roaster instead of the oven. It was great and the gravy I made from the drippings was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My turkey turned out great- very moist and not dry ,especially the breast meat. The real trick is to turn the bird over without tearing up the turkey or burning yourself. Be careful when you do that. I had a 14 lb bird and that is probably the largest I would do this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I have been roasting my turkeys breast side down for years and it is the BEST way to deliver a very juicy moist bird. I do not tuen it half way through. I promise, you will have a wonderful turkey. Rub with olive oil, season inside and out with salt & pepper and roast at 20 minutes/lb at 325 uncovered till thigh temp reaches 165. (temp will rise to 170 while it stands). Just roast on a bed of carrot, onion, and celery and don't waste your time using a rack. Add 1/2cup water to the bottom of the roasting pan. When the tem hits 165 remove from the oven to a platter, cver with foil and let and stand for 15-20 minutes for the internal juices to redistribute. Remove the veggies from the roasting pan and set aside. Spoon off excess fat and use the pan juices to whisk up a wonderful pan gravy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awesome! This was the first turkey I ever prepared, I had a 9-10 punt bird, and it worked really well and tasted exceptionally good. No additional seasoning, I made it exactly as stated, only that I covered it with a sheet of tin foil for a little while to avoid over-browning. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
The turkey was beautiful! I'm not sure why people say it looks ugly. It was very moist and flavorful. We did a few things might have helped keep it pretty: 1) We cooked for about 2.5 hrs before flipping 2) Turning was a two person process - one person used the handles of big spoons (inserted into both cavities sort of like a rotisserie) to hold the bird up and the other person flipped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Amazing! I used this method for my first turkey - adding rosemary & basil. It was delicious and ugly - as promised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was my 1st time making a turkey, and it was perfect! Even my too-hot oven couldn't ruin it! I used stuffing, not just an apple, but otherwise followed the recipe, and it was ugly and delicious! I'm not afraid to cook turkeys anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this tonight for Easter and YUM!! I didn't put anything on the turkey skin because we have to be careful about salt and I used 2 large apples to completely stuff the bird. I covered it with foil until the last 30 min, then took the foil off so the skin would brown up. It wasn't ugly at all! Everyone also liked a little extra scoop of cooked apple on their plates. Sadly, no turkey left-overs for me tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States