The Best Ugly Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I used this recipe last year, but modified it a little by cooking in a roaster bag. It came out great with little mess. My first turkey in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Wasn't sure to cook this turkey covered or uncovered. I cooked it upside down and covered for 3 hours, breast up and covered for 1/2 hour and uncovered for the last 1/2 hour to brown it up. Very juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Only way hubby wants to make turkey. I put it on the bbq to save my oven Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
OH MY GOSH the juiciest breast ever, now I have to make the turkey every thanksgiving....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
It does get "ugly" from being turned over, but it also is quite good. Putting fruit in chicken, turkey is always good. I used 2T kosher salt, 1T freshly ground black pepper, 1T poultry seasoning & 1/2T sage. Put 1T in & the rest on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I almost didn't try this but boy am I glad I did! I only left it upside down for an hour, since it was only 9 1/2 pounds, and the breast was NOT dry, for the first time! Thanks so much! It wasn't even that ugly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This turkey was wonderful, and not ugly at all! I left the turkey uncovered in the refrigerator overnight to dry the skin. Before going in the oven, I stuffed it with the apple and some fresh herbs, then rubbed it with an herb and garlic butter. The skin was cripsy, and the whole bird was a lovely golden brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I have been roasting my turkeys breast side down for years and it is the BEST way to deliver a very juicy moist bird. I do not tuen it half way through. I promise, you will have a wonderful turkey. Rub with olive oil, season inside and out with salt & pepper and roast at 20 minutes/lb at 325 uncovered till thigh temp reaches 165. (temp will rise to 170 while it stands). Just roast on a bed of carrot, onion, and celery and don't waste your time using a rack. Add 1/2cup water to the bottom of the roasting pan. When the tem hits 165 remove from the oven to a platter, cver with foil and let and stand for 15-20 minutes for the internal juices to redistribute. Remove the veggies from the roasting pan and set aside. Spoon off excess fat and use the pan juices to whisk up a wonderful pan gravy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this tonight for Easter and YUM!! I didn't put anything on the turkey skin because we have to be careful about salt and I used 2 large apples to completely stuff the bird. I covered it with foil until the last 30 min, then took the foil off so the skin would brown up. It wasn't ugly at all! Everyone also liked a little extra scoop of cooked apple on their plates. Sadly, no turkey left-overs for me tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjsboutique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
The turkey was beautiful! I'm not sure why people say it looks ugly. It was very moist and flavorful. We did a few things might have helped keep it pretty: 1) We cooked for about 2.5 hrs before flipping 2) Turning was a two person process - one person used the handles of big spoons (inserted into both cavities sort of like a rotisserie) to hold the bird up and the other person flipped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States