The Best Ugly Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I discovered this "trick" about 7 years ago and will never go back! It is the juiciest and best tasting bird you will ever have. Not to mention the easiest. No laboring over a hot oven basting the turkey over and over again. If I am not hosting, I am a bit pushy and insist on the host doing it this way. I have people calling me asking how they can get their turkey so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I am rating this for the method of baking breast side down. I have my own method of seasoning that I use, so I can't rate this on taste. I only cook "breast side down" for an hour to hour and a half, as it keeps the breast looking nicer. I also put my seasonings in butter and place pieces of the seasoned butter on top of my stuffing, so when it's upside down, it's melting into the meat and my turkey always turns out moist and very flavorful. I also separate the skin on the breast and rub my butter mixed with seasonings underneath. I never use measurements, but perhaps I will this year, so I can post it on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
We loved this recipe, I didn't think it was terribly ugly.(Ha Ha) Great taste and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kirksey, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Like the title says, it was great, tender. but it fell apart when I turned it upside right to cut. Didn't bother anyone that it was ugly as I cut the meat and put on a platter to serve. Everyone loved it. I'll do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this turkey for a dinner party. It was the BEST turkey. I have never made a good turkey the times I tried before this recipe. The only thing I did different is I coated the turkey in a combination of garlic, olive oil, and italian seasoning. I followed the cooking instructions to the letter.My inlaws really enjoyed eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Maker of Dinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Amazing! I used this method for my first turkey - adding rosemary & basil. It was delicious and ugly - as promised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made this for Christmas 08. It was awesome. I added a secret ingrediant (about 10 ounes of caffeine free citris soda (7-up). I also cooked it in a turkey roaster instead of the oven. It was great and the gravy I made from the drippings was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was my 1st time making a turkey, and it was perfect! Even my too-hot oven couldn't ruin it! I used stuffing, not just an apple, but otherwise followed the recipe, and it was ugly and delicious! I'm not afraid to cook turkeys anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My turkey turned out great- very moist and not dry ,especially the breast meat. The real trick is to turn the bird over without tearing up the turkey or burning yourself. Be careful when you do that. I had a 14 lb bird and that is probably the largest I would do this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States