The Best Ugly Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awesome! This was the first turkey I ever prepared, I had a 9-10 punt bird, and it worked really well and tasted exceptionally good. No additional seasoning, I made it exactly as stated, only that I covered it with a sheet of tin foil for a little while to avoid over-browning. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I have tried different methods of fixing a turkey throughout the years without much sucess. It's either too dry, not done enough, no flavor - but this recipe turned out great. I turned the turkey over after roasting on the breast for about 2 hours so that it wouldn't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was my first time roasting a turkey for the whole family and this recipe was amazing! The turkey was moist and I was free to spend time with everyone, instead of basting it every 20 minutes. You may call it ugly, but the taste is just beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
It certainly lives up to its name! It's really ugly but delicious. Tender and tasty, just not pretty. If you don't carve it at the table, that's no big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great way to make a turkey. Super Moist, super delicious. I swear the best way to make a turkey is to make it in a roaster. I bought an electric roaster, and it always makes it great; this made it even better. The name of this fits perfectly because the turkey comes out incredibly ugly; it fell apart during cooking, doesn't stay in tact, and don't even think about carving it like a normal turkey. But, on the flip side, it all just fell apart, fell off the bone, and when I just had the breast fall off, I was able to slice it and it worked perfectly. Will continue to make it this way in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
very easy to do and might i recommend you tie two strings around either end of the bird so you have something to grab onto to flip the bird. once flipped cut and remove strings. i also used cranberries instead of an apple, but have used the apple in the past. great easy recipe for first timers! will do this one again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was my first time cooking a turkey, it came out great!! And extremely easy! I didn't bother with turning it and added dried poultry seasoning to the inside and out. Those were the only changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacyloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I thought the turkey was good, not outstanding..the breast meat close to the top was still a little dry..I think I'd stick some butter under the breast next time. It wasn't too ugly and I carved it in the kitchen anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
wow! i made this for Thanksgiving, this was unbelievably the best turkey i ever tasted! how could something so simple be so good! ...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onecent42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My turkey turned out great- very moist and not dry ,especially the breast meat. The real trick is to turn the bird over without tearing up the turkey or burning yourself. Be careful when you do that. I had a 14 lb bird and that is probably the largest I would do this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States