The Best Ugly Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I used this recipe last year, but modified it a little by cooking in a roaster bag. It came out great with little mess. My first turkey in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Wasn't sure to cook this turkey covered or uncovered. I cooked it upside down and covered for 3 hours, breast up and covered for 1/2 hour and uncovered for the last 1/2 hour to brown it up. Very juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Only way hubby wants to make turkey. I put it on the bbq to save my oven Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
OH MY GOSH the juiciest breast ever, now I have to make the turkey every thanksgiving....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
It does get "ugly" from being turned over, but it also is quite good. Putting fruit in chicken, turkey is always good. I used 2T kosher salt, 1T freshly ground black pepper, 1T poultry seasoning & 1/2T sage. Put 1T in & the rest on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I almost didn't try this but boy am I glad I did! I only left it upside down for an hour, since it was only 9 1/2 pounds, and the breast was NOT dry, for the first time! Thanks so much! It wasn't even that ugly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This turkey was wonderful, and not ugly at all! I left the turkey uncovered in the refrigerator overnight to dry the skin. Before going in the oven, I stuffed it with the apple and some fresh herbs, then rubbed it with an herb and garlic butter. The skin was cripsy, and the whole bird was a lovely golden brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I have been roasting my turkeys breast side down for years and it is the BEST way to deliver a very juicy moist bird. I do not tuen it half way through. I promise, you will have a wonderful turkey. Rub with olive oil, season inside and out with salt & pepper and roast at 20 minutes/lb at 325 uncovered till thigh temp reaches 165. (temp will rise to 170 while it stands). Just roast on a bed of carrot, onion, and celery and don't waste your time using a rack. Add 1/2cup water to the bottom of the roasting pan. When the tem hits 165 remove from the oven to a platter, cver with foil and let and stand for 15-20 minutes for the internal juices to redistribute. Remove the veggies from the roasting pan and set aside. Spoon off excess fat and use the pan juices to whisk up a wonderful pan gravy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this tonight for Easter and YUM!! I didn't put anything on the turkey skin because we have to be careful about salt and I used 2 large apples to completely stuff the bird. I covered it with foil until the last 30 min, then took the foil off so the skin would brown up. It wasn't ugly at all! Everyone also liked a little extra scoop of cooked apple on their plates. Sadly, no turkey left-overs for me tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
The turkey was beautiful! I'm not sure why people say it looks ugly. It was very moist and flavorful. We did a few things might have helped keep it pretty: 1) We cooked for about 2.5 hrs before flipping 2) Turning was a two person process - one person used the handles of big spoons (inserted into both cavities sort of like a rotisserie) to hold the bird up and the other person flipped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States