The Best Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
I'm a college "kid" on a budget, and get home rather late. I found this recipe while I should've been listening to a lecture, but I was hungry. I knew I had the ingredients at home and throughout class I salivated thinking of how amazing this chili was going to be. I got home and promptly started cooking this chili. I browned the turkey, and noticed I only had 20 ounces. Not to be deterred I continued in my quest. Well let's just say I completely slaughtered this recipe! Somehow the can of "black beans" I thought I had, turned out to be Bush's "Smashed black beans with poblano chiles, tomatoes, and bacon" . That can of crushed tomatoes...check! Wait nope they're fire roasted - guess that'll work. Chili powder - I'm out?! Well chipotle chili powder it is! Mid-way through, I noticed I needed kidney beans, pinto beans, and tomato sauce - and I didn't have them. Wine? Oh yes, in fact I needed a glass! After trying to figure out what to do for the missing tomato sauce I opened the freezer door. Ahah! I spotted something frozen that remotely resembled something tomato'ish...so I added it (no clue WHAT it was...maybe ro-tel tomatoes?) Hmm Wine - yes more please! It didn't specify which type of red wine, so I used a pinot noir. By this time, I was so exhausted but I triumphed! This recipe that I slaughtered (and I will try my best to make it the right way!) was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Made this chili for my hubby and I and we loved it!! I used reduced sodium beans and tomatoes and it's great for those with dietary restrictions (watching their salt intake). Does not need any added salt and the amount of zesty flavor is just right, even for Bunco or potlucks ??. Fast and easy. Simple ingredients that I always have on hand too. ?? Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was my first time making chili, I found this by searching online for a recipe that would help use up all the dried beans I've got in my pantry. I only changed two things: substituting dried beans for canned (I soaked & cooked them the day before) and cooking the onion and garlic in the pot for a few minutes before adding the turkey. Turned out very good, I'm excited to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef samie
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I finally made this recipe with chunky picante salsa and garnished with shredded cheese. it was delicious. i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
My family LOVED this recipe! I used diced tomatos instead of crushed (thats what we had in the pantry), two cans of kidney beans and chicken broth instead of water. I thought we were going to have enough for leftovers but boy, was I wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venita Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
a keeper for the recipe box. yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toberich7272

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I made it just like the recipe but added fire roasted green chilies to spice it up a bit. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I used a mixture of beef and turkey and it turned out great. We like our chili spicy so I added fresh diced Jalapenos to a a little more heat. Served this to a group of friends and they couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very tasty, but a needs a little salt and tad more of cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I made it in my slow cooker and i added green peppers diced for added veggies. I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States