The Best Thai Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was an excellent peanut sauce! I also followed many people's advice and scaled way back on the amount of peanut butter (about 1/2 to 3/4 cup). Also used crunchy peanut butter to add some texture and authenticity to the mix. I like mine a little bit spicier so I also added cayenne pepper and a bit more than the recommended hot sauce. Also, combined this with Spicy Grilled Shrimp (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Spicy-Grilled-Shrimp/Detail.aspx) and some rice noodles. Made for an excellent dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I love the ingredients! I had to improvise with quantity and with what ingredients I had on hand. I used a couple tablespoons of regular milk and added a couple tablespoons of shredded coconut instead of coconut milk and used cayenne pepper instead of hot sauceI only had dried cilantro and I always opt for crunchy peanut butter. I had to omit the fish oil and it was still great! I mix in shredded chicken and top a pizza crust with it or put the mixture in wonton wrappers and fry them up. Dip in thai style chili sauce or duck sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
this was just not for me. too peanut buttery, not enough sweet & spicy flavor for me. i ended up adding 3x the coconut milk, 1/4 c. sugar, and 1/2 c. sweet thai chili sauce, in additon to 2 full T. grated ginger and no water. then it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I've used this recipe many times and it is wonderful. I do a chicken satay and once the peanut sauce is combined, I portion out about 1/2 a cup of it and brush the chicken with it on the grill to infuse some of that wonderful flavor during the cooking process. The key to the thickness is a little bit of heating. Pop the sauce in the microwave and heat for about 10 seconds to get a thinner consistency. You can use chunky peanut butter also. I served this with Sesame Noodles also on this site. This is the best Thai peanut sauce because you can adjust many of the flavors in this recipe to taste without ruining it. It makes a lot of sauce so either plan a party with a satay platter or be prepared to refridgerate the unused portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Tasty! I used all coconut milk, no water. Also, I didn't have any cilantro on hand, so I made it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURLYGURL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This peanut sauce is far too thick as written. I added a LOT more coconut milk and then had to adjust all of the other ingredients accordingly. I'm freezing some of this sauce for another family, so decided to add the cilantro later rather than mixing it in to keep it fresh-tasting. Servicable flavor, unfortunate texture, sorry. Thanks for letting me try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This recipe was fabulous! I accidentally put in three times the amount of ginger but it's still delightful anyway. Next time I think I would add more coconut milk as mine turned out very very thick and I'd like something that would be a little more saucy. But taste . . . peanut heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miremba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
*Update* to my *Update* I made this again recently and while I was making it realized I'd done something, well.. odd. I had doubled every ingredient except the PB. So, yeah, I've got to re-star this, and I'm sorry to do so. But double everything else but the PB and you may find a BIG keeper in your recipe box. Old review follows: This recipe is a fantastic jumping-off point. I prefer chili paste to what "I" consider hot sauce (to us, that's Tabasco) so I used chili paste (sriracha would work well also). Mine was thick - good for a dipping sauce, but I thinned it out a bit with extra coconut milk to serve over rice noodles & leftover baked chicken. Oh, and chopped some peanuts in the food processor for the top. Just fantastic. I will ALWAYS keep coconut milk on hand now. AND my picky/Irish traditional husband loved it. One tip on using fresh ginger - toss it into a freezer bag and freeze it before grating, it goes much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe is nearly worthless as written. It is WAY too thick and WAY too peanut buttery - it just tastes like barely watered down peanut butter. The good thing is it's easy to play around with and improve. I doubled the ginger, lime juice, soy sauce (low sodium), and coconut milk (lite), added some lime zest, copious amounts of chile garlic sauce, and several tablespoons of hoisin sauce, chucked in about a full cup of chopped cilantro, and thinned it with additional water. That made for a finger-licking good peanut sauce. I served it over whole wheat spaghetti with tender-crisp veggies (bell pepper, snap peas, scallions, broccoli) and pan fried tofu squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
A bit thick for my liking, so I added water to thin it out. Also, I personally think it could use more spice, so I added more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States