The Best Thai Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Too peanut buttery for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
really great! i love the fresh ginger! we smothered noodles in this sauce and mixed in some cucumbers, cilantro, and chicken. it is replacing my previous peanut sauce recipe (which is great since i lost that cookbook!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Thank you Stephanie! This is out of this world. Didn't change a thing. Served it with "Thai Chicken Satay" from this site. Slathered the cooked satay with this sauce and sprinkled with chopped peanuts. Placed a small bowl of additional sauce on each plate for dipping. Oh my, so good! Also served "Asian Coconut Rice" and "Barbequed Pineapple", both from this site. Wonderful meal. Can't wait to make it again for visiting relatives this summer. Don't know what I would do without All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
i love the sauce as is and added my twist to suit our taste. i did not have fish sauce so i used shrimp sauce. i like cilantro, so i used the stalks and cut them into bits for that punch of taste and texture. finally, i added lime skin, grated for that punch of lime. microwave for a minute and i was ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was an excellent peanut sauce! I also followed many people's advice and scaled way back on the amount of peanut butter (about 1/2 to 3/4 cup). Also used crunchy peanut butter to add some texture and authenticity to the mix. I like mine a little bit spicier so I also added cayenne pepper and a bit more than the recommended hot sauce. Also, combined this with Spicy Grilled Shrimp (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Spicy-Grilled-Shrimp/Detail.aspx) and some rice noodles. Made for an excellent dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I love the ingredients! I had to improvise with quantity and with what ingredients I had on hand. I used a couple tablespoons of regular milk and added a couple tablespoons of shredded coconut instead of coconut milk and used cayenne pepper instead of hot sauceI only had dried cilantro and I always opt for crunchy peanut butter. I had to omit the fish oil and it was still great! I mix in shredded chicken and top a pizza crust with it or put the mixture in wonton wrappers and fry them up. Dip in thai style chili sauce or duck sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
this was just not for me. too peanut buttery, not enough sweet & spicy flavor for me. i ended up adding 3x the coconut milk, 1/4 c. sugar, and 1/2 c. sweet thai chili sauce, in additon to 2 full T. grated ginger and no water. then it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I've used this recipe many times and it is wonderful. I do a chicken satay and once the peanut sauce is combined, I portion out about 1/2 a cup of it and brush the chicken with it on the grill to infuse some of that wonderful flavor during the cooking process. The key to the thickness is a little bit of heating. Pop the sauce in the microwave and heat for about 10 seconds to get a thinner consistency. You can use chunky peanut butter also. I served this with Sesame Noodles also on this site. This is the best Thai peanut sauce because you can adjust many of the flavors in this recipe to taste without ruining it. It makes a lot of sauce so either plan a party with a satay platter or be prepared to refridgerate the unused portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Tasty! I used all coconut milk, no water. Also, I didn't have any cilantro on hand, so I made it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURLYGURL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This peanut sauce is far too thick as written. I added a LOT more coconut milk and then had to adjust all of the other ingredients accordingly. I'm freezing some of this sauce for another family, so decided to add the cilantro later rather than mixing it in to keep it fresh-tasting. Servicable flavor, unfortunate texture, sorry. Thanks for letting me try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States