The Best Thai Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I made this exactly as directed and planned to use it on Thai rice noodles with sauteed chicken breast, carrots, and scallions. When I tasted it, it pretty much had no other flavor except the peanut butter, and it was entirely too thick. I added olive oil, a lot more lime juice, more cilantro, and probably another tbsp or 2 of soy sauce. It was much better in terms of consistency and flavor, but still not smooth as I had initially expected. Next time I'd probably use much less peanut butter and a lot more coconut milk which I can't taste at all. And a lot more hot sauce or red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is so sickingly awesome!! I used chunky peanut butter and didn't have coconut water, the nuts give a nice texture. I had leftover ingredients from a pho soup I ordered take out, so I added this sauce to the rice noodles and other fixins ( cilantro, sprouts, shrimp, chicken, jalapeño, lime, green onion) sliced a little carrot, and made a phenomenal stir fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
With a few modifications this recipe was excellent. I heated my skillet on simmer. Just enough heat to blend. I lowered the amount of (no stir, crunchy) peanut butter to a little less than a cup. Omitted the water competely & doubled the coconut milk (I used Savoy coconut cream). Used sirarcha as the hot sauce. And added just under a tablespoon of sesame oil per other reviews. Also used just under a teaspoon of powdered garlic & ginger. It was amazing right off the stove luke warm. Sure to be even better after the flavors meld overnight. Perfect consistency to dip SPRING ROLLS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I did love this recipe, once I tweaked it. Luckily, it is easy to tweak! As written, the peanut butter is a bit too strong. I increased the coconut milk and lime juice. It is very tasty. The possible uses are many. I tossed it with rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Added about 1/4 cup coconut sugar to it and used half the peanut butter suggested. Tastes exactly like the peanut sauce at Thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Mahoney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
It is just WAAAY too peanut buttery and thick and you can barely taste anything else in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Jepson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
yummy. used only 1 c. of peanut butter, a sprinkle of sugar & squeeze more lime juice on the mixed noodles at the end. other than that, made as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This recipe has all the right ingredients, but in the wrong proportion! When I made this, it turned out with a really strange texture and tasted way too much like peanut butter. Then I started reading the reviews which I should have done to begin with! I was able to salvage the recipe by following everyone's advice which was to use more coconut milk, and add more of all the other ingredients. I also added 3 table spoons of brown sugar to sweeten it up a little. If you are willing to do some trial and error to find the right mix of ingredients to fit your taste, then this is a good recipe. If you don't have the patients, then find a different one! Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is my favorite peanut sauce. I like it even better than what you get in a restaurant. I saute the ginger and garlic before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. I also use low fat coconut milk. The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Great Peanut Sauce, I added 3 tablespoons of Honey 1 tablespoon of Hoisin and omitted the cilantro To make it taste like what you get in a restaurant. We made it for a stir fry and it was amazing, added it to the wok 2 minutes before the veggies were done and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin Jordsvar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States