The Best Thai Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I made this exactly as directed and planned to use it on Thai rice noodles with sauteed chicken breast, carrots, and scallions. When I tasted it, it pretty much had no other flavor except the peanut butter, and it was entirely too thick. I added olive oil, a lot more lime juice, more cilantro, and probably another tbsp or 2 of soy sauce. It was much better in terms of consistency and flavor, but still not smooth as I had initially expected. Next time I'd probably use much less peanut butter and a lot more coconut milk which I can't taste at all. And a lot more hot sauce or red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is so sickingly awesome!! I used chunky peanut butter and didn't have coconut water, the nuts give a nice texture. I had leftover ingredients from a pho soup I ordered take out, so I added this sauce to the rice noodles and other fixins ( cilantro, sprouts, shrimp, chicken, jalapeño, lime, green onion) sliced a little carrot, and made a phenomenal stir fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
With a few modifications this recipe was excellent. I heated my skillet on simmer. Just enough heat to blend. I lowered the amount of (no stir, crunchy) peanut butter to a little less than a cup. Omitted the water competely & doubled the coconut milk (I used Savoy coconut cream). Used sirarcha as the hot sauce. And added just under a tablespoon of sesame oil per other reviews. Also used just under a teaspoon of powdered garlic & ginger. It was amazing right off the stove luke warm. Sure to be even better after the flavors meld overnight. Perfect consistency to dip SPRING ROLLS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I did love this recipe, once I tweaked it. Luckily, it is easy to tweak! As written, the peanut butter is a bit too strong. I increased the coconut milk and lime juice. It is very tasty. The possible uses are many. I tossed it with rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Added about 1/4 cup coconut sugar to it and used half the peanut butter suggested. Tastes exactly like the peanut sauce at Thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Mahoney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
It is just WAAAY too peanut buttery and thick and you can barely taste anything else in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Jepson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
yummy. used only 1 c. of peanut butter, a sprinkle of sugar & squeeze more lime juice on the mixed noodles at the end. other than that, made as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This recipe has all the right ingredients, but in the wrong proportion! When I made this, it turned out with a really strange texture and tasted way too much like peanut butter. Then I started reading the reviews which I should have done to begin with! I was able to salvage the recipe by following everyone's advice which was to use more coconut milk, and add more of all the other ingredients. I also added 3 table spoons of brown sugar to sweeten it up a little. If you are willing to do some trial and error to find the right mix of ingredients to fit your taste, then this is a good recipe. If you don't have the patients, then find a different one! Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is my favorite peanut sauce. I like it even better than what you get in a restaurant. I saute the ginger and garlic before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. I also use low fat coconut milk. The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Great Peanut Sauce, I added 3 tablespoons of Honey 1 tablespoon of Hoisin and omitted the cilantro To make it taste like what you get in a restaurant. We made it for a stir fry and it was amazing, added it to the wok 2 minutes before the veggies were done and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin Jordsvar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States