The Best Thai Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Great recipe! It makes alot of sauce - so I would recommend freezing part of it. I put the sauce over sauted chicken tenders, onions and green peppers and served it over jasmine rice. I can't wait to try it over rice noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I made this sauce exactly as the recipe stated, and used it as a coating for flat lo-mein noodles. Its a decent sauce, but the flavors don't combine very well. The taste of peanut butter is very strong, before being replaced by the lime juice/cilantro. Also, the sauce would benefit from some texture - some crushed peanuts would be the obvious choice. A more authentic Thai sauce would use only crushed peanuts and forego the peanut butter, anyway. If I were to make this again, I'd use much less peanut butter, add some finely-crushed peanuts, and perhaps add even a little more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I made this the day before to accompany Chicken Satay. The extra time gave this sauce a chance to come together flavourwise. The cilantro added about an hour before serving is important to the fresh taste. Very good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This sauce is fantastic! I had coconut milk left over so I tried this recipe out in order to use it up and it is now going to be a consistent meal. I did use one cup peanut butter and one cup coconut milk and it tasted delicious. Much better than any peanut sauce you can buy at the store. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is a wonderful Thai peanut sauce! I followed the recipe exactly. When i tasted it, I thought it was marginal (a little bit of a letdown). But...after sitting in the fridge for and hour and then being used with Thai Chicken Satay (recipe on this site - read my review), it was awesome! The various flavors in the sauce must have needed time to blend and accompanied by the taste of the marinated chicken, it was definitely 'The Best Thai Peanut Sauce"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Super thick if made as written. Reduce the amount of peanut butter! Nothing like the peanut sauce at my favorite Thai rest. It just tasted to much like regular peanut butter with a little bit of spice to it. Maybe if i reduced the peanut butter by 1/2 i would have been able to taste the other ingredients. Probably wont make this version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
The best thai peanut sauce I've tasted in or out of a restaurant. The recipe is very forgiving, too. I had to alter a couple of things because I didn't have them. I used teriyaki sauce instead of soy, omitted the fish sauce, and soaked 1/4 cup shredded sweetened coconut in skim milk in place of the cocnut milk. I also added some sugar. I will be making this constantly now; Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Emily
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I will make this sauce again, I did however add dark brown sugar and next time I will not add as much ginger. I really like ginger but feel like it was really strong in this dish. This sauce is really good with thai egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I'm not an expert on Thai food but I thought this sauce was great with Chicken Satay and later stirred into noodles. I did start with only 1 cup of peanut butter, but I stayed with 1/2 cup of coconut milk. I did use 3 tablespoons of water as directed, if you want a thinner sauce I would add more water, coconut milk is too thick to thin the sauce. I didn't have fish sauce so I used extra soy sauce. Also I used Thai Chili Sauce (a sweet and spicy, syrupy kind of sauce) in place of the hot sauce (I used about 3 tablespoons). Everything else I did as directed...makes a bunch though, unless you plan on using it for several things you might want to only make half!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I used the whole amount of peanut butter which was too much. It made it too thick. 1/2 cup would be plenty. I also threw in 2 teaspoons of curry powder. The flavor was amazing. It was the hit of the faculty room
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States