The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
It is delicious and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
OMG!!!! This soup is UNBELIEVABLE. i added other veggies to this like shredded carrot, spinach, snap peas and it just added that much more to this great soup. I also added way more red curry paste to the degree of my taste, around 3 tablespoons. Also i used coconut cream rather than coconut milk and lemon since i dodnt have lime. Oh man, the flavors!!! Truly a winning recipe that is versitle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rubino
Living In: Bay Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Whooooooa. This soup doesn't SEEM like it could possibly turn out that great when it takes, what, 30 minutes? But then, all of a sudden, it does. Word of warning: This stuff is RICH. You will inevitably get yourself a giant bowl because you tasted it and it's SO good, then you'll be in a food coma halfway through. This is not a bad thing. Just something to be aware of. AMAZING RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MouskiStc
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Yummy! I made a few modifications to make this recipe vegan (veggie broth, omitted shrimp and added veggies), and I also added some Thai chillies/sambal/Sriracha to make the soup spicy. Also added rice noodles, which turned out great. I would also recommend using coconut oil instead of vegetable oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I made this without mushrooms, added chopped carrots & celery, scaled the size down a bit. So easy and delicious, both kids finished every last drop. More comforting than chicken soup with our current terrible head colds! Thank you Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I'm a thai foodie. I was expecting from the reviews the kind of soup that's served in thai restaurants, which has a unique taste, both sweet and spicy. From the recipe it looked tasty, but unfortunately there is way too muck coconut milk (is it really 3 x 13.5 oz ? One can of 398ml would probably be enough). I tried to save the recipe by adding more red curry and more chicken broth, but still it wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Fantastic! Like restaurants! Added chicken instead of shrimp, bamboo shoots, and water chestnuts. It was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very very good. I added some more curry powder and soy sauce instead of salt. Added rice noodles (only a handful) for some body. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I feel that there was way too much coconut milk and not enough spice. The soup overall was very thick and bland. I used chicken instead of shrimp, but the problems were with the "broth," which was too thick to really be called a broth, anyway. I may try it again with less coconut milk and a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this recipe. No complaints from anyone. I only changed a couple of things. One, I live in a small town so they don't sell lemon grass (or the paste) so I had to leave that out. I also added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, because we love spicy foods! I also am not a fan of shrimp so I left the shrimp out but instead added a package of rice noodles. I boil the noodles first, then run them under cold water so they don't stick, then add them to the soup. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States