The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I really really liked it and although i didn't add the chicken stock (I really don't liked them), it was super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Ortelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I am fortunate to live across from an Asian market. I have all the ingredients but added one kafir lime leaf from my tree. Also, be sure to use a grater or a microplane for the lemon grass so you don't struggle with the texture like some reviewers mention. I'm not a fan of spicy foods but the combination of these ingredients are so spectacular I would make again and again. Also, be sure to use this as your 'go to' recipe. I would suggest for those that have trouble finding these ingredients, order them online so you can make this exactly as written and have them on hand. Lastly, I used an Asian vermicelli noodle and pan fried in peanut oil. So crispy to add to the top and the broth softens it when time to eat. Well done Jessica! M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is a delicious soup! Unfortunately, I could not get hold of red curry paste, so I used a ton (est. 2 tbsp) of green curry paste and a pinch of curry powder; it still did not taste like curry at all, though. Nevertheless, the soup was fabulous with a nice deep coconut, lemongrass, ginger flavour. I added glass noodles, 1 tbsp of thinly sliced white onion, and chunks of extra-firm tofu to the recipe, in order to make more of a meal out of it. I decreased the fish sauce to 1 tablespoon, because I don't care much for salt or fish sauce - I found 1 tbsp plenty. I added the coconut milk one can at a time, and found that 1.5 cans yielded a soup that is plenty creamy - Any more and it would have been too rich (and high calorie) for me. I very finely minced the stalk of lemongrass and did not notice any chunks or hard bits. I loved the way this turned out! Next time, I hope to use red curry paste. The soup is great the next day, when the flavours have had time to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Great soup! Easy to make, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
very good. I used 2 cans of lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Tried this about 3 days ago and i loved it. Changes made-->did not use lemon grass, used 3 tsp of the red curry paste, used 2 cans coconut milk (3 would have been too much i think as others said), used 3 tbs of lime juice in the bottle, used 1 1/5 tbs ground ginger instead of fresh ginger. I also used 1lb large shrimp deveined and sliced in half. Added 3 thin sliced chicken breast chopped into bite size. Did not use fish sauce but used soy sauce instead. Chopped some scallions and 1 celery stalk. Didn't use mushrooms. The chicken broth was low sodium and fat free. I served it with thin rice noodles, added directly into the each bowl of soup. I would definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I played it straight on most of the ingredients except I had to use lemongrass paste. It turned out awesome. I was seriously impressed. Super exotic and strange and delicious. Except I love my Thai food crazy hot, so I had to add around 15 dried Thai pepz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
First this recipe is good, only I'm a bit surprised at the lack of substitutions. I added chicken, I fied it mostly though out in the first step. Then I put it in the pot with a couple of cups of cooked rice and brought to a boil then immediately removed from heat. This worked amazingly we'll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regan Brister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
So good and savory. Like some, I only used two cans of coconut milk and I increased the curry by 1 tsp to make it spicier. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States