The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Oh, good grief! This was a brilliant soup! I used the Thai Kitchen red curry paste, so added probably 4 times more than the recipe called for because it's so wimpy. Other than that I made it as written and thank goodness I made enough for my lunch tomorrow. Thank you, Jessica, for sharing this beautiful soup recipe with us. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
My husband and I love the coconut soup at the Thai restaurant we go to so I found this recipe to make at home. It is so good. I like my soup a little thicker and spicier so next time I am going to reduce the chicken broth and increase the pepper paste.We used shrimp this time but next time I am going to try chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was easy and delicious! I used lemongrass paste since I was unable to find lemongrass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is one of my all time fav recipes!! Soooo good!!! I used chicken instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Mmm Mmm Mmm, very yummy, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I use this recipe all the time. I use soy sauce instead of salt and leave out the the fish sauce, just because I don't care for fish sauce at all. When I use the red curry paste from the Asian store, the amount in the recipe is fine. However, when I use the "over the counter" stuff from the supermarket, I need to up it a lot (like by 5-6 times) to get the same flavor. I add a spinach/bok choy/chard mix towards the end of the cooking time and sometimes also use chicken instead of shrimp. Also I sometimes only use 2 cans of coconut milk. It works fine without mushrooms (for people with mushroom allergies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leslie
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Loved this soup! I more-than-doubled the red curry paste & shitake mushrooms since I like it spicy (this didn't make it too spicy as my husband doesn't enjoy food when it's too spicy, and he had 2 big bowls!) I used only 2 cans of cocnut milk. I also added a couple of fresh quartered plum tomatoes when I added the shrimp.Don't forget the fresh squeeze of lime before serving; the acid really compliments the rich coconut broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This recipe was great! I have a pretty picky husband, so when he helped himself to seconds and thirds - and happily ate leftovers - I knew it was a good one. It didn't turn out spicy for me at all, though. I think that's because of the brand of red curry that I bought? I'll have to play around with that. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana Gallegos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I used chicken not shrimp and added more coconut milk and more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
So delicious! I tweaked only a smidgen. I added Galangal at the beginning, used the suggestion of lemongrass stalk, substituted one can of regular coconut milk for light coconut milk because that's all I had, added an extra tbsp of curry, and a couple red pepper flakes. It seriously is one of the most delicious soups I've ever had! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States