The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
WONDERFUL recipe! I had almost none of the ingredients, so I substituted green onion for lemon grass and peppers for mushrooms and chicken instead of shrimp. I also doubled the curry paste because I like it with a bit of a kick :) Wonderful flavour, super easy, and crowd favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I don't rate recipes but this is fantastic. I use 1 tsp dried lemongrass and make my own organic coconut milk in the blender which costs approx 1/8 the price of canned milk. Use 1 cup coconut chips per 2 cups not quite boiling water, blend 2-3 minutes then strain the coconut fiber. Definitely worth looking up if you use a lot of coconut milk! Oh and we use chunked fish instead of shrimp, cheaper and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kelsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Good flavor. However, I like a lot more stuff in my soup. I'd double the mushrooms and shrimp. And, there is almost no kick. I'd use more like 2 tablespoons of curry paste next time. I used lemongrass paste in a tube which was all Kroger had for lemongrass. Folks who disliked the chunks might try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Denison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great soup base recipe! I made a few substitutions, based on what I had on hand - used homemade beef stock instead of chicken and added tofu instead of shrimp. Otherwise, followed the recipe. Super good, quick, and easy. I'll definitely be keeping this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is now my favorite chicken soup! I used homemade chicken stock and a ready-made lemongrass-ginger-cilantro-chile paste I found at the market which worked perfectly, but also mixed in a little mild red curry paste. I also added a few lime peels to the broth as it simmered (in lieu of kefir lime leaves) and used pre-cooked chicken breast instead of shrimp. I only made half the recipe this time -- will definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Semola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was excellent and very easy to make! I doubled the recipe and made it with half unsweetened almond milk and half coconut milk to save on some calories. Still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I made this recipe as it was written minus the shrimp. It came very close to the soup we get at our favorite Thai restaurant. We thought this version was not quite as light and fresh as theirs but still a winner. In my own bowl I added a little extra cilantro, fish sauce and a little red pepper paste to kick it up a notch and it made it even better!! I very much recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it! Only changes I made we're using light coconut milk in order to lower calories and used strips of chicken breast instead of shrimp for same reason. We also added par cooked rice noodles to make it a full meal on its own. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Enjoyed this quite a bit! I looked at some of the recommendations for this and did this with chicken instead of shrimp. I also used only 1 can of coconut milk and half a can of coconut cream to make this and that seemed to be enough to get the level of cream we wanted. Very happy with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is a GREAT recipe. I added a lot more vegetables, and kicked up the spice a bit, but the base recipe is outstanding. This soup tastes as good as anything I get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States