The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
YUM!!! Best Thai Coconut Soup I've ever made! I used yellow curry instead of red (by mistake) and it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
It's one of my favorite recipes. Easy to make and even when I tried it with prepackaged lemon grass and ginger, it turns out amazing. Great flavors! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia Frolova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. Authentic and aromatic. Beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley Barnhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Really, really good. I was surprised to find it tasted just like restaurant Thai soups I've enjoyed in the past! I added about double the red curry paste (I used Thai Kitchen and I find their brand has very weak flavours) and I added Thai Basil, green onion and tofu. I also used half the amount of mushrooms. While it was cooking I added the herbs and reserved some for garnishing. This added a nice depth of flavour to the soup! Great recipe! Also I used this advice from about.com on cooking with lemongrass Simply cut the yellow stalk into 2-3 inch lengths. Then “bruise” these sections by bending them several times. You can also create superficial cuts along these sections with your knife, which will help release the lemon flavour. Add these bruised stalks to your soup or curry. When serving, remove the lemongrass pieces, or ask your guests to set them aside as they eat. http://thaifood.about.com/od/thaicookingessentials/a/Lemongrass_2.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Very flavorful! I did forget to add the lime and I used green curry paste instead of red as that's what I had. I added 2 lb. of shrimp and I'm glad I did because even so, there was a lot of broth and not a lot of "stuff". I did add brown rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I made this last night and it was really good. The only thing I did different was used chicken instead of shrimp (didn't have any shrimp). I sauteed the chicken in the lemon grass, curry paste, fish sauce, and ginger. My only complaint was about the fish sauce, yuck! I live on the coast, I love seafood, but that was disgusting. Luckily, there is only a hint of the flavor, so it didn't ruin the dish. But, I certainly will leave it out next time. I will definitely try again, without the fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
When followed exactly, this recipe is fantastic and rates 5 stars. I've also added to and subtracted from it with great results. I've used left-over cooked chicken, green curry paste instead of red, added green onions and sliced summer squash, used soy sauce instead of fish sauce, omitted the lemon grass -- it always turns out delicious and I get many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made this soup last night. Oh My Goodness! My husband, who hates coconut, loved the soup. I only added two cans of coconut milk and then I added one minced clove of garlic. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marenez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Loved it and its easy to make. I didn't mince the lemon grass and removed the stalk before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States