The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Good flavor. However, I like a lot more stuff in my soup. I'd double the mushrooms and shrimp. And, there is almost no kick. I'd use more like 2 tablespoons of curry paste next time. I used lemongrass paste in a tube which was all Kroger had for lemongrass. Folks who disliked the chunks might try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Denison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great soup base recipe! I made a few substitutions, based on what I had on hand - used homemade beef stock instead of chicken and added tofu instead of shrimp. Otherwise, followed the recipe. Super good, quick, and easy. I'll definitely be keeping this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is now my favorite chicken soup! I used homemade chicken stock and a ready-made lemongrass-ginger-cilantro-chile paste I found at the market which worked perfectly, but also mixed in a little mild red curry paste. I also added a few lime peels to the broth as it simmered (in lieu of kefir lime leaves) and used pre-cooked chicken breast instead of shrimp. I only made half the recipe this time -- will definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Semola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was excellent and very easy to make! I doubled the recipe and made it with half unsweetened almond milk and half coconut milk to save on some calories. Still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I made this recipe as it was written minus the shrimp. It came very close to the soup we get at our favorite Thai restaurant. We thought this version was not quite as light and fresh as theirs but still a winner. In my own bowl I added a little extra cilantro, fish sauce and a little red pepper paste to kick it up a notch and it made it even better!! I very much recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it! Only changes I made we're using light coconut milk in order to lower calories and used strips of chicken breast instead of shrimp for same reason. We also added par cooked rice noodles to make it a full meal on its own. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Enjoyed this quite a bit! I looked at some of the recommendations for this and did this with chicken instead of shrimp. I also used only 1 can of coconut milk and half a can of coconut cream to make this and that seemed to be enough to get the level of cream we wanted. Very happy with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is a GREAT recipe. I added a lot more vegetables, and kicked up the spice a bit, but the base recipe is outstanding. This soup tastes as good as anything I get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
We enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This is a fabulous recipe. So easy and so good!!! Will make on a regular basis. I added thinly sliced baby bok choy, as well as sliced water chestnuts for a crunch. I also used 2 stalks of lemon grass. I scored them so the flavour of the stalks would infuse easier into the broth, then I cut them into 3 inch pieces so they can be easily identified for removal when serving. I poured the soup over rice noodles to make it more filling. Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anneliese
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States