The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
So delicious! I tweaked only a smidgen. I added Galangal at the beginning, used the suggestion of lemongrass stalk, substituted one can of regular coconut milk for light coconut milk because that's all I had, added an extra tbsp of curry, and a couple red pepper flakes. It seriously is one of the most delicious soups I've ever had! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Needed some tweaking. First, next time I would cut down on the coconut milk. Second, none of the Thai restaurants around me use shiitake mushrooms for this soup. If you are a big fan of shiitake mushrooms then go for it, but around me I've always had it at restaurants with regular old button mushrooms. The shiitakes added a very strong smokey shiitake flavor to the broth. Third, I needed to add more sugar for it to taste like the stuff at the restaurant. After serving I just added some regular table sugar until it tasted like what I get at the restaurant. Fourth, I have never had this soup from a restaurant with the lemongrass minced in. I have always had the lemongrass in 1-2 inch chunks that you can pick out. If you want to chew on lemongrass, mince away. I left mine in large chunks just because that's how it's always been served to me. And finally, the recipe as written is very mild. I ended up adding some garlic chili paste to mine at the table. A bit of spice really helps offset and cut through the heavy coconut. With those tweaks it ended up VERY close to restaurant quality, and very easy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "The Best Thai Coconut Soup" was good. My husband and I frequent the three Thai restaurants in our neighborhood and love coconut soup. My husband thought this was as good as any of the soups we have had in the restaurants, but I disagree. Aside from that, there is such a variation in different brands of red curry paste, and unfortunately I had to buy the brand from the supermarket because the Asian market was closed. I think it is very important to have a good quality red curry paste to make Thai soup. I ended up using 4 tablespoons of supermarket red curry paste (instead of the 2 teaspoons called for in the recipe) and still didn't get the flavor I was after. Regardless of the red curry paste, and although this soup was good, I will not likely make it again. I am looking for a recipe that tastes like the one from my favorite Thai restaurant. Thank you Jessica for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made this and lived it but during tasting as it cooked i found i had to add 6 teaspoons of the curry paste to get it to have some curry flavor and and extra spoon of brown sugar. Not sure why i needed so much extra curry paste but when done it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe joe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My husband and son really enjoyed this soup. (I don't eat shrimp, so I just made it for them.) We didn't have lemongrass, so I skipped it, but they said it was extremely good anyway. (Next time we'll use it to see how it goes.) They also requested a bit more curry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe is stellar. The flavor is perfectly right as is. Based on others' comments, I, too, added some chicken sliced thinly, during the simmer. The only thing I might do differently next time is to chop the lemongrass and ginger in large chunks, then tie them in cheesecloth so that they can be easily removed when the soup is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was great --I followed the recipe as written and it was yummy, then the next day, with the leftover soup, I tweaked some ingredient amounts more to my liking (I like more lime juice, chili paste and chicken) and I diluted it with water to match the soup at my favorite Thai place. Awesome. This recipe is a great template for a great soup that you can adjust to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Delicious. I sautéed the mushrooms with some chopped cabbage first, then continued with the recipe. I quadrupled the red curry paste and also added some soy sauce in place of the salt at the end. And then I topped it with some peanuts for a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I loved the flavors in this soup! Getting some of the ingredients felt like an investment, but I have happily used them for other Asian recipes. I used tofu and chicken in place of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very good, though I was worried whIle it was cooking ... was kinda stinky! I used veggie broth and used tofu instead of shrimp and was super yum-yum! I also cooked the final step a little longer than the five minutes mentioned. I'm not a huge fan of curry, but the amount here just gave a little heat, not too much flavor, perfect for my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Duda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States