The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I went to the local Asian market to get some of the ingredients I didn't already have at home. I should have watched the video first because I didn't chop up my lemongrass fine enough. It was still delicious! The lady at the Asian market gave me some lemongrass to grow in my garden for next time I make this....how cool is that! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCapri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Quick and easy. I added a little more coconut milk (1 can more) plus a lot more spice and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren Westlund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Has anyone ever frozen this recipe? It was amazing!!! And I did use the lemongrass paste thanks for the tip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Only thing missing was the lime leaves, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I followed the recipe as written, but doubled it to make a huge batch for a large group potluck. First of all, the pot was scraped clean, with many folks coming back for seconds and even thirds. Second of all, I served this to my mother-in-law (gluten free, health-nut, etc.) She had just had a version of this soup at an excellent Thai restaurant in town and said that my soup was better. Also, I can't count how many people asked for this recipe, including mother-in-law. Next time I make this for my family I will cut the curry paste a bit- my kids don't like spicy foods- but for my husband & me it was just perfect. Try it. It is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
WONDERFUL recipe! I had almost none of the ingredients, so I substituted green onion for lemon grass and peppers for mushrooms and chicken instead of shrimp. I also doubled the curry paste because I like it with a bit of a kick :) Wonderful flavour, super easy, and crowd favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I don't rate recipes but this is fantastic. I use 1 tsp dried lemongrass and make my own organic coconut milk in the blender which costs approx 1/8 the price of canned milk. Use 1 cup coconut chips per 2 cups not quite boiling water, blend 2-3 minutes then strain the coconut fiber. Definitely worth looking up if you use a lot of coconut milk! Oh and we use chunked fish instead of shrimp, cheaper and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kelsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Good flavor. However, I like a lot more stuff in my soup. I'd double the mushrooms and shrimp. And, there is almost no kick. I'd use more like 2 tablespoons of curry paste next time. I used lemongrass paste in a tube which was all Kroger had for lemongrass. Folks who disliked the chunks might try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Denison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great soup base recipe! I made a few substitutions, based on what I had on hand - used homemade beef stock instead of chicken and added tofu instead of shrimp. Otherwise, followed the recipe. Super good, quick, and easy. I'll definitely be keeping this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is now my favorite chicken soup! I used homemade chicken stock and a ready-made lemongrass-ginger-cilantro-chile paste I found at the market which worked perfectly, but also mixed in a little mild red curry paste. I also added a few lime peels to the broth as it simmered (in lieu of kefir lime leaves) and used pre-cooked chicken breast instead of shrimp. I only made half the recipe this time -- will definitely be making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Semola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States