The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
My husband and I love the coconut soup at the Thai restaurant we go to so I found this recipe to make at home. It is so good. I like my soup a little thicker and spicier so next time I am going to reduce the chicken broth and increase the pepper paste.We used shrimp this time but next time I am going to try chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was easy and delicious! I used lemongrass paste since I was unable to find lemongrass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is one of my all time fav recipes!! Soooo good!!! I used chicken instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Mmm Mmm Mmm, very yummy, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I use this recipe all the time. I use soy sauce instead of salt and leave out the the fish sauce, just because I don't care for fish sauce at all. When I use the red curry paste from the Asian store, the amount in the recipe is fine. However, when I use the "over the counter" stuff from the supermarket, I need to up it a lot (like by 5-6 times) to get the same flavor. I add a spinach/bok choy/chard mix towards the end of the cooking time and sometimes also use chicken instead of shrimp. Also I sometimes only use 2 cans of coconut milk. It works fine without mushrooms (for people with mushroom allergies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leslie
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Loved this soup! I more-than-doubled the red curry paste & shitake mushrooms since I like it spicy (this didn't make it too spicy as my husband doesn't enjoy food when it's too spicy, and he had 2 big bowls!) I used only 2 cans of cocnut milk. I also added a couple of fresh quartered plum tomatoes when I added the shrimp.Don't forget the fresh squeeze of lime before serving; the acid really compliments the rich coconut broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This recipe was great! I have a pretty picky husband, so when he helped himself to seconds and thirds - and happily ate leftovers - I knew it was a good one. It didn't turn out spicy for me at all, though. I think that's because of the brand of red curry that I bought? I'll have to play around with that. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briana Gallegos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I used chicken not shrimp and added more coconut milk and more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
So delicious! I tweaked only a smidgen. I added Galangal at the beginning, used the suggestion of lemongrass stalk, substituted one can of regular coconut milk for light coconut milk because that's all I had, added an extra tbsp of curry, and a couple red pepper flakes. It seriously is one of the most delicious soups I've ever had! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Needed some tweaking. First, next time I would cut down on the coconut milk. Second, none of the Thai restaurants around me use shiitake mushrooms for this soup. If you are a big fan of shiitake mushrooms then go for it, but around me I've always had it at restaurants with regular old button mushrooms. The shiitakes added a very strong smokey shiitake flavor to the broth. Third, I needed to add more sugar for it to taste like the stuff at the restaurant. After serving I just added some regular table sugar until it tasted like what I get at the restaurant. Fourth, I have never had this soup from a restaurant with the lemongrass minced in. I have always had the lemongrass in 1-2 inch chunks that you can pick out. If you want to chew on lemongrass, mince away. I left mine in large chunks just because that's how it's always been served to me. And finally, the recipe as written is very mild. I ended up adding some garlic chili paste to mine at the table. A bit of spice really helps offset and cut through the heavy coconut. With those tweaks it ended up VERY close to restaurant quality, and very easy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States