The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Absolutely love this recipe, I add a teaspoon of chili paste for a bit of heat. I also found lemongrass stalks in a jar and use dried mushrooms when I can't get shiitake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
excellent! next time i'll add one less can of coconut milk and a little more curry. my curry is thai kitchen brand and is very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I made some changes to the original recipe and it turned out AMAZING!!! I added: 3-4 tsp. cayenne pepper, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1 tsp. onion powder, 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1 chicken bouillon cube. Items I omitted: I only used 2 cans of coconut milk, rather than 3. NO fish sauce or lime juice. It turned out amazing, the cayenne pepper added the right spiciness I was looking for, and the rest of the seasonings made the soup much more savory. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cedes2015
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This soup was right on the money! This recipe tasted just like how they make it in Thai restaurants. I prefer the soup to have a little kick of spiciness so I added Sriracha sauce, red pepper flakes and some red chili paste. Don't skimp on the lemongrass because that is the key to this recipe. If you've never worked with lemongrass before you can youtube how to cut it and there are many videos that will show you how. I used low sodium chicken broth since the recipe didn't specify and it came out great. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
The recipie has way too much coconut milk. Needs more curry paste. A little more lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This is so good! I added in tofu with the shrimp, and next time I would double the solid ingredients or add more vegetables because we ended up with a lot broth and we like to eat it over rice like more of a curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
Was delightful. Added scallops with the shrimp and the savory flavor was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haddick13
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I cooked everything in a crockpot and added soba noodles at the end! Came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This soup is so so so so delicious! I have seriously found my favorite soup recipe! The sweet and sour combination is perfectly balanced. I honestly can't say enough good things about it, just that you should make this! It seems like it could be served hot or cold (I served it immediately out of the pot). I only had two cans of coconut milk on hand instead of three, but two was just enough for me. Since I only cook for one (myself), there is plenty of leftovers. I am one very happy girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I went to the local Asian market to get some of the ingredients I didn't already have at home. I should have watched the video first because I didn't chop up my lemongrass fine enough. It was still delicious! The lady at the Asian market gave me some lemongrass to grow in my garden for next time I make this....how cool is that! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCapri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States