The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I'm the one that submitted this recipe and I just wanted to add a little note: If you can't find lemongrass, most stores carry lemongrass paste. It's not as good as fresh lemongrass, but at least you will get some of the flavor. Also, I've discovered that adding basmati rice that is a little toasted or crispy adds another really great element to this soup. One more thing, my recipe calls for minced lemongrass because we like the texture and crunch of it. However, some people might not, so you can just put the whole stalks in a take them out when ready to eat. Thanks for all the great reviews! EDIT: My recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of curry paste because I used incredibly spicy paste. Lately I am not able to find that particular brand and most red curry pastes on the market are not very spicy. So add to taste and according to how spicy the paste is that you have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
533 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This Was So GOOD! I Added Chicken Instead Of Shrimp (Let The Chunks Of Chicken Simmer In Chile Base For 30 Min, Then Let Simmer WIth Coconut Milk For 45 More Minutes So The Chicken Would Infuse WIth Flavor And Be Tender). Also Added Rice Noodles (I Suggest Boiling Them Separatly, Then Adding Them To A Bowl With The Soup Placed On Top- The Noodles Will Suck Up The Broth If You Add The Dried Noodles To Cook In The Soup.) So Good, Could Also Add Bean Sprouts Or Anything Else You Can Think Of!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Holy smokes, this was AWESOME!!! My boyfriend snarfed it, and I loved it, too. My sister wasn't too hot about the chunks of lemongrass. I liked them, but if they bother you, you can always buy lemongrass paste, I suppose. Anyways, this was fast, easy, and total comfort food. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Absolutely fabulous!!! Because fresh lemon grass wasn't available, I used the tube lemon grass. You need triple the fresh. But oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Awesome, authentic soup! Tastes great over brown basmati rice with a ton of fresh cilantro on top. Very filling and tastes just as good the next day. This soup has so much flavor. I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Like many people here I get tempted to tweak recipes. Not this one. It rivals a favorite local Thai restaurant that my Sweetheart and I go to so I resist the temptation to tamper. Some folks might like or expect it to be spicier but for us this is perfect. I wish i could give it more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
We love this soup! I added 1 chicken breast sliced thin in bitesize pieces while the soup was in the simmer because when we get this at our favorite Thai place, this is how they make it! We had never had shrimp in it before, but what a great addition! I did not use Shitake mushrooms because I had white mushrooms, but it would be fabulous. Can't add too much ginger so don't worry about the amount listed in the recipe. I grated it using a microplane. My other additions were galanga and dried red thai chilies 'cause HE likes it hot. I used about a tsp of the tube lemongrass (cause fresh is sometimes hard to find here in the"sticks".) I made the entire recipe and we ate most of it in one sitting. There's just enough for me for lunch today. (YAY!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used only 2 cans of coconut milk and this was still too much (I love coconut anything). Next time I would only use one and would also add waaay more lime juice (to give it that sweet and sour Thai flavour), more lemongrass, and possibly some lime leaves and fresh Thai chilies. I also added two heads of bok choy to make it more of a meal, which turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was SO good!!!! Here are some of the changes I made though: I cut the lemon grass too small and it's hard to pick out/ literally hard to eat, so I'd cut 2 stocks in bigger pieces I used like 4 Tablespoons of red curry paste haha I used 1 T of fish sauce, I don't like it too fishy I used Light coconut milk used white mushrooms cause I think they're way better :) I also shredded a rotisserie chicken instead of using shrimp and squeezed 4 whole limes in. I also added broccoli, green beans, little corns, bock choy, green onion (all at the end), and choped half a yellow Onion that I put in when the chicken broth was boiling so it gave flavor/ got really soft. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was wonderful! So rich and flavorful, and fairly easy to prepare. I could eat the delicious, rich broth by itself, but the shrimp and mushrooms add a wonderful flavor and texture. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used veg broth. Next time, I'll add either red pepper flakes or more curry paste to give it that Thai kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States