The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Awesome, authentic soup! Tastes great over brown basmati rice with a ton of fresh cilantro on top. Very filling and tastes just as good the next day. This soup has so much flavor. I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Yummy! I didn't add the salt because the taste was perfect. I want to try the cilantro sometime when my husband isn't so picky. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloodyMaryMorning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This is a VERY similar recipe to something I threw together off of the top of my head. I change things occasionally just by a little bit: I personally prefer a little more curry, so I increase that just by flavor. Anyone familiar with curry would know you add it to your liking. Also, I like to add those thin, translucent rice noodles? I can't remember the exact name, but if I don't feel like rice, those noodles cook so darn quickly and blend perfectly with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Very delicious soup. I substituted chicken for shrimp, and added in some red peppers and it was still great! Had a nice lingering warmth in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is the best soup ever!! Even my husband, who does not like curry flavor of any kind, raved about it. And, it's so easy to prepare. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Amazing! I just made this soup and am now thoroughly enjoying it! It was very easy to make, and there is plenty for leftovers for days, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I added lime leaves to give it more flavor and omitted the chicken to make it vegetarian. Pretty close to restaurant quality Tom Kha, but not quite there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was wonderful! So rich and flavorful, and fairly easy to prepare. I could eat the delicious, rich broth by itself, but the shrimp and mushrooms add a wonderful flavor and texture. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used veg broth. Next time, I'll add either red pepper flakes or more curry paste to give it that Thai kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Fabulous recipe! flavor is spot on! heat is perfect! I swapped some fish for the shrimp, cut the amount of mushrooms and added some sliced onion, minced garlic, red pepper, and some edamame. served over a bit of Jasmine rice..MM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
We love this soup! I added 1 chicken breast sliced thin in bitesize pieces while the soup was in the simmer because when we get this at our favorite Thai place, this is how they make it! We had never had shrimp in it before, but what a great addition! I did not use Shitake mushrooms because I had white mushrooms, but it would be fabulous. Can't add too much ginger so don't worry about the amount listed in the recipe. I grated it using a microplane. My other additions were galanga and dried red thai chilies 'cause HE likes it hot. I used about a tsp of the tube lemongrass (cause fresh is sometimes hard to find here in the"sticks".) I made the entire recipe and we ate most of it in one sitting. There's just enough for me for lunch today. (YAY!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States