The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Whooooooa. This soup doesn't SEEM like it could possibly turn out that great when it takes, what, 30 minutes? But then, all of a sudden, it does. Word of warning: This stuff is RICH. You will inevitably get yourself a giant bowl because you tasted it and it's SO good, then you'll be in a food coma halfway through. This is not a bad thing. Just something to be aware of. AMAZING RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MouskiStc
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Yummy! I made a few modifications to make this recipe vegan (veggie broth, omitted shrimp and added veggies), and I also added some Thai chillies/sambal/Sriracha to make the soup spicy. Also added rice noodles, which turned out great. I would also recommend using coconut oil instead of vegetable oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I made this without mushrooms, added chopped carrots & celery, scaled the size down a bit. So easy and delicious, both kids finished every last drop. More comforting than chicken soup with our current terrible head colds! Thank you Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I'm a thai foodie. I was expecting from the reviews the kind of soup that's served in thai restaurants, which has a unique taste, both sweet and spicy. From the recipe it looked tasty, but unfortunately there is way too muck coconut milk (is it really 3 x 13.5 oz ? One can of 398ml would probably be enough). I tried to save the recipe by adding more red curry and more chicken broth, but still it wasn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Fantastic! Like restaurants! Added chicken instead of shrimp, bamboo shoots, and water chestnuts. It was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very very good. I added some more curry powder and soy sauce instead of salt. Added rice noodles (only a handful) for some body. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I feel that there was way too much coconut milk and not enough spice. The soup overall was very thick and bland. I used chicken instead of shrimp, but the problems were with the "broth," which was too thick to really be called a broth, anyway. I may try it again with less coconut milk and a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Absolutely LOVE this recipe. No complaints from anyone. I only changed a couple of things. One, I live in a small town so they don't sell lemon grass (or the paste) so I had to leave that out. I also added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, because we love spicy foods! I also am not a fan of shrimp so I left the shrimp out but instead added a package of rice noodles. I boil the noodles first, then run them under cold water so they don't stick, then add them to the soup. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I found this recipe to be on the right track for the flavors I was looking for...but those flavors were just not bold enough. I doubled the red curry paste, lime juice, and brown sugar. Extra fresh cilantro too. I really appreciated this recipe because it was very simple and it did get me very close to the Tom Kha Gai at my favorite Thai restaurants. I found dried lemongrass in a jar on the Asian aisle and that has worked very well when I can't find fresh. I have learned though, you cannot replace fresh cilantro and fresh lime juice...ever. Thank you so much for sharing this because e I crave this stuff all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Wow! This is one amazing recipe. I used raw chicken breast cut into smaller pieces instead of the shrimp - I added it at the same time as the shrimp was supposed to be put in, brought everything to a boil and let it simmer for about 6 minutes. I also cooked up some rice vermicelli separetly which I added to the soup right before serving. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States