The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used only 2 cans of coconut milk and this was still too much (I love coconut anything). Next time I would only use one and would also add waaay more lime juice (to give it that sweet and sour Thai flavour), more lemongrass, and possibly some lime leaves and fresh Thai chilies. I also added two heads of bok choy to make it more of a meal, which turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Highly recommended. I didn't have to make any changes with the exception of lemongrass. Had to use dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I love this recipe. It is really easy. I added a little more ginger, cilantro and some fresh basil. I love those three fresh ingredients and could not help myself. My husband and I cannot stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very yummy soup and fairly easy to throw together. My local grocery didn't have lemongrass and I ran out of time to drive across town to the more gourmet one but it was fine without it. Added a bunch of extra curry paste because I know the brand we buy has very little spice. Would definitely make again, maybe adding a few more veggies (red pepper - not sure what else.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made a vegan version of this yesterday. It turned out great. Substituted veggie broth for the chicken broth, no shrimp, soy sauce for the fish sauce, and added some chopped tomato and red pepper in with the mushrooms. Really yummy! Also, I cut the lemongrass into quite large chunks - that way, anyone not loving it could easily identify it and remove it before eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was wonderful! My family loved it. I used the minced fresh lemongrass just like the recipe and thought it was good. I did actually finely minced the ginger rather than grated slices, and thought it was really great (but mincing was time consuming). At first I thought it wasn't hot enough with 2 T curry paste, but after simmering for awhile it was actually just spicy enough for my family ... served with red pepper flakes for my husband (who likes EXTRA SPICY everything) ... but he didn't use it and liked it as is! I did use all LITE cans of coconut milk instead of the regular and we thought it tasted wonderful, but saved on the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a good basic recipe for this dish. I don't eat meat so I sub veggie broth for the chicken. I make a garnish plate with fresh lime, cilantro, green onions, and fresh slivers of jalapeno. It's great over rice, by itself, or with rice roodles. I don't usually buy shitake mushrooms, I just use basic white or cremini, but I can guarantee any type will be delicious. Oh and add extra mushrooms, I prefer twice as many mushrooms as shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
5+ STARS AS IS! To condense the 100+ reviews I read which most were;t anything but praising the original recipe from Jessica which I do wish she gave the name of curry paste she uses (I will mine-it's awesome) here we go: (1) for a richness and depth like no other, if you can find dehydrated sliced shitakes (I get mine at a regular grocery store but also have at my local Asian market) or I've also used brown cremini in a pinch, rehydrate them and use the water with bouillon base for a more complex broth; (2) to make it more of a meal, per others I threw in at the same time as the broth a bag of broccoli florets with baby carrots; (3) I buy the A Taste of Thai 1.75oz (7-1tsp svgs) and use the whole package of red curry paste and it's perfect for my family heat preference which tends to be on the hotter side than some people; (4) I've never compared side by side Thai coconut milk vs coconut milk but others said there's a difference (Thai is thicker they said). I buy the Thai coconut milk full fat and I'm an RD - some things are better (like real butter) for taste sensations but lite I'm sure is fine - I used 2 cans and 22cups extra broth and soup was still rich. (5) I wasn't sure if I'd like the lemongrass chopped texture so as author later recommended and others added, I threw in a whole lemongrass stick that I "bruised" first with blunt end of knife and took out before serving. (6) I've subbed chicken and ground pork after trying with original shrimp - ALL are gr8! Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My family loved this recipe! I doubled the recipe to freeze the left overs (works great by the way). The first thing I did was use chicken instead of shrimp and mushrooms. I put three breasts whole in to cook and soak up the flavor. Second I let this simmer slow and low for about 3-4 hrs to really set the flavors. You don't have to do this but the chicken starts to fall apart and it really brings out the spices. I tried stalk lemongrass and tube lemongrass the different times I made this, and I find the tube adds more flavor. But if texture is what you are looking for then you might want to go with stalk. My family also really likes heat so I added 1-2 tsp extra of curry and 6-7 tsp of chile paste e.g. sambal oelek (keep in mind that's total for two batches at once). The end result is heaven. I served on some rice noodles I boiled separately, but this isn't neccesary since the soup is pretty filling on it's own. I didn't add any salt since the fish sauce had more than enough to flavor the dish. I get about 14 servings out of a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very good. Reminds me of the thai soup at our favorite restaurant. This is a a great winter dish, that was easy to make and yummy!. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States