The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made a one change to make it pescetarian friendly, but I believe it was still amazing! Instead of using chicken stock, I used water and vegetarian "Better Than Bouillon." So, I used 4 cups water to 2 teaspoons of Better Than Bouillon. The Bouillon is very salty, so I didn't need to add any extra salt in the last step (and I love salty foods! So, if you prefer less salty food, use less of the Bouillon.) Also, I made some rice noodles and they were a great base for the soup. I will definitely make this again! I loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Simply amazing,I have had this recipe in my bookmarks for over a month and I just finally finished cooking it and it simmering while I'm filling out my report. I love this style of cooking it just hits to the soul were my body can detect this is real food, but with that knock you out punch of flavor. The recipe gave me the foundation for my sauce mix, but I added more chicken broth flavor because the liquid broth was too plain so I then added the concentrated bouillon to my flavor and BOO_YAH its a HIT thanks Miss for this recipe. Cant wait to show off and send my mother in law a bowl of this over some rice she's going to think now I see why my son married her lol Im taking all credit !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
this came out awesome.. but i had to make adjustments as my red curry paste was growing hair :( .. i scaled this down to two servings.. so in place of the 1/2 tsp of red curry paste i added 3/4 tsp of garlic chili paste and also 3/4 tsp curry.. we love spicy.. im sure we added more lime juice than what was called for.. threw in some cooked rice noodles to the dish and we were in heaven.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
It was alright. I've been going to a local Thai restaurant for years and always enjoyed their coconut shrimp soup. I thought this recipe was the closest to the one they make. I really didn't like the idea of cilantro... It's like WHAT? It's a Mexican spice, has nothing to do with an Asian soup. I'm sorry it takes away from it for sure. What happened to red onions? You gotta put red onion in your coconut soup! One more thing. Thai kitchen is famous for its spiciness. You gotta use jalapeno peppers or cayenne for sure. Also, I must agree that 3 cans of coconut milk is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I used this recipe to make a healthier version of a Thai soup. They are usually laden with fat and salt. My substitutions are just a heaping tablespoon of Thai & True Red Curry Paste (mail ordered from Food Fight in Oregon - lower salt and ungodly good), low salt chicken broth, 2 cans of low fat coconut milk. I also use a T-spoon of the paste lemongrass because that's all I can get. I have been making it with both shrimp and chicken. It has been pronounced as "restaurant quality" by everyone fortunate enough to try it. It also doesn't seem to take anywhere near 35 minutes to prep. 5 stars but I'd happily give it 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Amazing! Even though just used white champignons and not oyster mushrooms. After my third time making it I got this just the way we like it. I used 4 tbsp of mild curry, 4 tbsp of lime/lemon. My husband's favorite soup now:) yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Thank you so much, Jessica, for posting this recipe! I have made homemade tom kha kai (my favorite food in the world) twice before from two different recipes, both much more complicated than this one and both disappointing. This recipe is AWESOME! I tried to stay as true to the original as possible, but I had to make some adjustments for health and convenience purposes. I used unrefined coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I substituted 2 grated carrots (added at the same time as the ginger) instead of brown sugar. I used 1.5 lbs of chicken instead of shrimp and 1/2 lb of portobella mushrooms instead of shiitake. I also had to substitute 1 can of coconut milk by using "SO Delicious" original coconut milk (it's like using Sunny D instead of real orange juice) and 1/2 lemon peel, grated, instead of lemongrass. Regardless, this soup was to die for, and this is a great base recipe. I think the coconut milk to broth ratio was perfect, and I will make this again and again. You could definitely add assorted veggies (thai chilis, savoy cabbage, bamboo shoots, bell peppers, sliced carrots), but this recipe gives you the jumping off point for an easy but tasty tom kha kai. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This soup was so TASTY! My only complaint was the chewy bits of lemongrass. The next time I make this I would cut the lemongrass in 2-inch pieces and then remove them before serving. I didn't follow the recipe to a tee as I wanted to use up 3/4 cup of leftover coconut milk. I cut all the other ingredients in half and the soup was still super TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I also add crunchy spaghetti squash...Cut your raw squash in half lengthwise...run a knife around the outside of the seeds then take a spoon and scrape out all of the seeds in one big scrape...place your squash cut side down in 1-2" of water...cover with wax paper...microwave the squash half for only 7 minutes...while I am cooking the second squash half I run cold water on the back of the first one for about 1-2 minutes...this permits me to quickly, without further steaming, scrape the long strands our of the squash leaving it still crunchy...I add this to the soup at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States