The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Had to add more paste. But I just get a generic brand so it may be more bland than some. Other than that: fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this according to the recipe, but used chicken instead of shrimp due to an allergy and added dried kaffir lime leaves. I tasted it as I added the ingredients and it was the best after the first can of coconut milk. I ended up adding all three, which I now regret, but if I make it again I would just use one. This should help the fact that the soup was too broth-y; with three cans of coconut milk it needs more "stuff" in it--more mushrooms, baby corn, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Absolutely Fabulous! I added 4 tsp of Thai Chili Garlic Sauce and used low sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. No salt needed. Make sure to chop the lemon grass up very fine to achieve a lovely crispy-crunchy effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Great! Though the lemon-grass doesn't cook so you need actually to remove it before adding the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I loved this soup. I did add more curry paste and a bit more fish sauce. I like my foods to have a lot of zip. Instead of brown sugar I used maple syrup. (It's better for you.) I served it with rice that we put in our bowls with the soup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lucas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! I made it as specified though I didn't think it was spicy enough and I generally don't like anything too spicy. I think this could be due to variations in brands of curry paste like the author said. We kept adding a lot of Sriacha sauce as we were eating it. I think I'll try less coconut milk next time, not so much because of the flavor but because of the fat content. Yikes! Also - this was the first time I had grated ginger and it takes more ginger than I thought. A good work out too! The lemongrass was much more difficult to cut than I expected, very dense and pulpy but what a lovely flavor it adds. I'll definitely make this again, especially as a treat for guests. Sure to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Perfect Recipe that I've combined with the Tom Yum Recipe on occasion, with fantastic results. A pet Peeve of mine, is this: When cooks put "Salt to taste" on their recipe. I've had extensive surgeries and lack the 'human' range of taste, so if I salt it to how I like it or WHERE I can taste it, it'll be a great mouth-rinse for everyone else but a terrible dish. So please, put an exact measurement when you post a recipe. Anyway, for this dish I put 1 tsp of salt for that volume of liquid, came out perfectly. ALSO I added 1 tbsp of Lime. This dish is so packed with flavor that it doesn't need too much salt to make it wonderful... but Salt is a necessary evil ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I have made this many times and I absolutely love it. It is so easy, all in one pot and everyone into the pool kind of cooking. I use the lemongrass in a tube when I can't find the real thing and it works perfectly. I have also substituted chicken for shrimp and portobello mushrooms for shiitake with great results. Today I used all of them together and loved it. I keep thinking I don't like mushrooms and them remember how much I love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Getting ready to make it again, but with chicken and chunks of tomato. It is better than what we have had in several Thai restaurants! We also serve it over/with Thai style rice noodles which gives us a more authentic experience. Thank you for this wonderful rendition of a favorite dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesto

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Fabulous! I cut the recipe down to 3 servings & it was still wonderful! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States