The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Stunning! My hubby said it was the best meal I've made in years!!! Doubled it, subbed 4 chicken breasts for the shrimp and used the mushrooms I had on hand. Don't skip the lemongrass - it truly makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Meh. I was looking forward to this recipe, but I was somewhat let down. I expected more flavor, I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bexleychase
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Awesome! I added more red curry paste and ginger to my liking though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Wow!! So delicious, yet easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great recipe, and if yo have the seasonings, you can make all kinds of additions/substitutions, and just use the recipe as a base. ie, I didn't have shrimp, but I had tilapia. I didn't have mushrooms, but I added shredded carrot with the fish, and then spinach at the very end. So good in the winter time, warming inside and out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi Bernat Hahn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I have a question, can I use different types of curry paste, like green or yellowish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy Vang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I really really liked it and although i didn't add the chicken stock (I really don't liked them), it was super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Ortelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I am fortunate to live across from an Asian market. I have all the ingredients but added one kafir lime leaf from my tree. Also, be sure to use a grater or a microplane for the lemon grass so you don't struggle with the texture like some reviewers mention. I'm not a fan of spicy foods but the combination of these ingredients are so spectacular I would make again and again. Also, be sure to use this as your 'go to' recipe. I would suggest for those that have trouble finding these ingredients, order them online so you can make this exactly as written and have them on hand. Lastly, I used an Asian vermicelli noodle and pan fried in peanut oil. So crispy to add to the top and the broth softens it when time to eat. Well done Jessica! M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mallorysd

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is a delicious soup! Unfortunately, I could not get hold of red curry paste, so I used a ton (est. 2 tbsp) of green curry paste and a pinch of curry powder; it still did not taste like curry at all, though. Nevertheless, the soup was fabulous with a nice deep coconut, lemongrass, ginger flavour. I added glass noodles, 1 tbsp of thinly sliced white onion, and chunks of extra-firm tofu to the recipe, in order to make more of a meal out of it. I decreased the fish sauce to 1 tablespoon, because I don't care much for salt or fish sauce - I found 1 tbsp plenty. I added the coconut milk one can at a time, and found that 1.5 cans yielded a soup that is plenty creamy - Any more and it would have been too rich (and high calorie) for me. I very finely minced the stalk of lemongrass and did not notice any chunks or hard bits. I loved the way this turned out! Next time, I hope to use red curry paste. The soup is great the next day, when the flavours have had time to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Great soup! Easy to make, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States