The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
There's another Thai soup on this site by Chef John that has similar ingredients to this one, but is much better in my opinion. First, I personally feel that the hard crunchy pieces of ginger and lemongrass take away from the soup. In the other recipe he simmer's them in the chicken broth then filters them into the main pot. There's also more lime, chicken thigh instead of shrimp, garlic and red onion, which adds much more flavor. Overall, this soup is ok, but the other spicy Thai from Chef John is better...check it out and try for yourself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Best flavor! Closest I've ever come to my favorite Thai restaurant. I tried it with a couple changes as well to make a meal of it. I added a chopped chicken breast and a 1/2 cup of rice. It was delicious and also froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent soup! Tasted very similar to the soup at our favorite Thai restaurant. Sauteed 1 TBSP curry powder with 2 shallots, 5 or 6 cloves of minced garlic and 1 TBSP of chili sauce instead of curry paste. Also didn't have lemongrass, substituted with grated lemon peel at the beginning with the ginger and curry. Added red and yellow pepper, also swapped chicken for shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very good - used coconut water in place of chicken broth; use the whole amount of curry paste or it's not hot enough; used tofu for Daniel fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Waaaay too much coconut milk! If you use this like a curry (e.g., only a little bit of liquid) I suppose its ok, but as a soup soup, I wouldn't recommend it. Good flavor from the non-coconut elements, but the coconut milk weighs it down (and kills any nutritional value). I would modify by adding only 1 can of coconut, chicken and shrimp, and doubling the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Was not a fan of the chunks of lemon grass. Kidlets disliked it, excluding the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by mb
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made the recipe to serve 5. Used 1 reg can of coconut milk and one light. Perfect. Did not mince lemongrass and crushed the ginger. Added a little more shrimp (1 lb) and mushrooms (white button).Best Thai soup I've ever made. Served with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This soup is totally awesome! We made it for ourselves & then for a dinner party - everyone LOVED it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love this soup simple enough for a rookie but tastes first class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a nice dish with several modifications. Reduce the coconut milk to two, potentially even 1 1/2 cans. I used two and it was a bit much. I cooked two lemongrass stalks in the soup and then removed them before I served the soup. Mincing one stalk is simply too little flavor. I amped up the red curry paste, adding 3 tsp. Next time, I'll add even more. Next time, I'll add more mushrooms and some kind of green, probably bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States