The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made the soup more like Tom Yum Gai soup and added onion, bok choy, chicken and, most importantly, tomatoes. For me tomatoes are the perfect balance to the curry and coconut. It was great and will become one of my favorite dishes in the winter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Tastes pretty authentic. Love the flavor. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Added a bit more curry paste as I wanted it to taste a bit less "coconutty" but that's just my preferance. This recipe is AMAZING!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sperkins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Good enough to satisfy my crazy craving. Added more curry paste and cayenne pepper because I like mine very spicy. Will be making it again. Comes very close to what they serve at my fave restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Everyone loved this soup. Did add more curry paste, shredded chicken and cooked basmati rice, since didn't have any noodles. Also used two cans of coconut milk, three would have been too much. Fabulous flavors. Next time will add more veggies. Will make this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My friend made O sounds when she tasted it. This is stellar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I just finished making this soup and the flavor is awesome!!! I did have one problem though, I went to my Thai store and bought the lemon grass; an ingredient I have never worked with and I asked the owner if I should leave the LG in my soup or take it out. He said, "cut small and leave it in". Well, I don't know if my LG was old or what, but it was like chewing on straw.. So, after 1 hour of simmering and no change, I removed it before added the rest of my ingredients. After that, it was all good and worth making!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This soup is amazing!!! There is this fancy restaurant in Paris where we eat this delicious soup and my husband loves it. I was looking for a recipe for it and after I found this one i decided to give it a try. It came up exactly like the one in Paris! It's absolutely divine, rich in so many flavors! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I used lite canned coconut milk, and I couldn't taste the difference. I'm not sure why people are saying three cans of coconut milk was too much--it was delicious if made as the recipe was written. My husband usually stops at one or two bowls when we have soup, and he had three full bowls of this stuff! He's a big foodie, and loves trying new flavors, and he said this recipe is a new favorite. I also used lemon grass paste instead of lemon grass stalk as Jessica suggested in her follow-up comment, and it was great. I can't say enough good things about this recipe. Thanks for submitting, Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is a great recipe with true authentic flavor. I'm not sure why some other reviewers are complaining about hard or crunchy pieces of ginger and lemongrass--the recipe clearly states to grate the fresh ginger and mince the lemongrass. If that is done properly, there are no hard, crunchy pieces. The soup is rich and filling. Next time I might try using the lite coconut milk to see what difference it makes in the overall presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States