The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was SO good!!!! Here are some of the changes I made though: I cut the lemon grass too small and it's hard to pick out/ literally hard to eat, so I'd cut 2 stocks in bigger pieces I used like 4 Tablespoons of red curry paste haha I used 1 T of fish sauce, I don't like it too fishy I used Light coconut milk used white mushrooms cause I think they're way better :) I also shredded a rotisserie chicken instead of using shrimp and squeezed 4 whole limes in. I also added broccoli, green beans, little corns, bock choy, green onion (all at the end), and choped half a yellow Onion that I put in when the chicken broth was boiling so it gave flavor/ got really soft. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
So good! I added a little curry powder and about a tsp. of lime zest. I was amazed to see the difference in brands of canned coconut milk. I picked up several cans of it on the aisle with the powdered and shelf life milk. Then I saw it in the chinese food section labeled Thai Coconut Milk and bought several there. Upon opening it was clear that they were different. The Thai product was creamy and thick on the top ( I have seen that referenced in other Thai recipes) The Thai product was clearly superior. Look for it. I will make this again. It was great without noodles or rice, very filling in and of itself for a meal for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
It was okay a little bland for my taste...added more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Made this for the a family of 5, 4 of us loved it so 4 stars. 3 people don't like shrimp so I used chicken instead, also added toasted rice. Very nice soup, my 10 year old loved, loved it! I added extra lime to mine and totally agreed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This soup was the first Thai dish I have ever made that came out just like the restaurant. I made a stock by boiling the shimp shells, lemon grass and a few slices of ginger in the chicken broth for 20 minutes. I then strained it and made the soup as directed except for the chopped lemon grass since I had the flavor in the stock. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I also used one can of drained straw mushrooms, more Thai than Shiitakes, try chicken (boneless) I also used two stalks of lemon grass check out Thai reciepe for Tom Yum Ghai, overall good reciepe adding green beans and cabbage? Stew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Delicious soup! I added my own twist with just a touch more curry paste, siracha hot sauce, and peas-yumz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzArtzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
At first it tasted bland- something was missing. I added 2 tablespoons of rice vinegar and it was JUST like the restaurant! When looking back, I added the lime juice too soon and it boiled out... This is one of my FAVORITE Thai treats to order in the restaurant and now I can make it at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very good, tastes just like it does in the restaurants even though I had to sub some ingredients. I didn't find any curry paste, so I used 1Tb curry powder and extra grated ginger, garlic, tomato paste, lime zest; doubled the lemongrass; used only one can of light coconut milk; used a can of straw mushrooms instead of shiitakes, and tofu instead of shrimp.... sure sounds like I made an entirely different soup, but it's not so because I used this recipe as the base and it was a terrific place to start. I'm sure it would be wonderful as written, I just had to edit based on my pantry/preferences. Do try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States