The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I am SO happy to have found this recipe. The broth tastes exactly like the Tom Kha Kai soup I used to have at my favorite Thai restaurant. I've always wanted to make it, but all the recipes I looked up had crazy ingredients like galangal or lime leaves. I love that this recipe has ingredients that are easy for me to find without sacrificing any of the amazing taste! I did end up adding about three tablespoons of red curry paste to make it spicy enough, and next time I will definitely just throw the lemongrass in whole and then take it out...I wasn't a fan of the little fibrous pieces. I used chicken instead of shrimp and added water chestnuts. Next time I'm going to make a vegetarian version using this broth with tofu, carrots, broccoli, snap peas, baby corn, water chestnuts and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
No leftovers = fantastic recipe! I accidentally got two cans of coconut milk instead of three so substituted one can of whole cow milk and I have to say I think it was good that I did because the coconut milk was so rich even with just two cans that it may have been overwhelming if there had been three. I added quite a bit of extra curry as well as mixing green onions with the cilantro for a garnish. It was so good! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe, brings authentic soup home however I would add more curry paste and decrease the coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was AWESOME! tonight served in a bowl over steam fried noodles with dutch crunch rolls on the side. I split the lemongrass stalk in 4 pieces and then removed it just before serving as the recipe submitter suggested in their review. This soup was amazing! Easy too and next time, definitely more red curry paste. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is a staple weeknight recipe at our house. Easy, fast and delicious. We add rice noodles and corn, it makes a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jentess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This tastes exactly like the soup from my favorite Thai restaurant. I crock-potted everything, adding the shrimp late in the cooking process, followed by the coconut milk about a half hour later (be sure to do this on low as that stuff will curdle if you get it too hot). Thank you so much to Jessica for posting this. You rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I used only 2 cans of coconut milk and this was still too much (I love coconut anything). Next time I would only use one and would also add waaay more lime juice (to give it that sweet and sour Thai flavour), more lemongrass, and possibly some lime leaves and fresh Thai chilies. I also added two heads of bok choy to make it more of a meal, which turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Highly recommended. I didn't have to make any changes with the exception of lemongrass. Had to use dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I love this recipe. It is really easy. I added a little more ginger, cilantro and some fresh basil. I love those three fresh ingredients and could not help myself. My husband and I cannot stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States