The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
5+ STARS AS IS! To condense the 100+ reviews I read which most were;t anything but praising the original recipe from Jessica which I do wish she gave the name of curry paste she uses (I will mine-it's awesome) here we go: (1) for a richness and depth like no other, if you can find dehydrated sliced shitakes (I get mine at a regular grocery store but also have at my local Asian market) or I've also used brown cremini in a pinch, rehydrate them and use the water with bouillon base for a more complex broth; (2) to make it more of a meal, per others I threw in at the same time as the broth a bag of broccoli florets with baby carrots; (3) I buy the A Taste of Thai 1.75oz (7-1tsp svgs) and use the whole package of red curry paste and it's perfect for my family heat preference which tends to be on the hotter side than some people; (4) I've never compared side by side Thai coconut milk vs coconut milk but others said there's a difference (Thai is thicker they said). I buy the Thai coconut milk full fat and I'm an RD - some things are better (like real butter) for taste sensations but lite I'm sure is fine - I used 2 cans and 22cups extra broth and soup was still rich. (5) I wasn't sure if I'd like the lemongrass chopped texture so as author later recommended and others added, I threw in a whole lemongrass stick that I "bruised" first with blunt end of knife and took out before serving. (6) I've subbed chicken and ground pork after trying with original shrimp - ALL are gr8! Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My family loved this recipe! I doubled the recipe to freeze the left overs (works great by the way). The first thing I did was use chicken instead of shrimp and mushrooms. I put three breasts whole in to cook and soak up the flavor. Second I let this simmer slow and low for about 3-4 hrs to really set the flavors. You don't have to do this but the chicken starts to fall apart and it really brings out the spices. I tried stalk lemongrass and tube lemongrass the different times I made this, and I find the tube adds more flavor. But if texture is what you are looking for then you might want to go with stalk. My family also really likes heat so I added 1-2 tsp extra of curry and 6-7 tsp of chile paste e.g. sambal oelek (keep in mind that's total for two batches at once). The end result is heaven. I served on some rice noodles I boiled separately, but this isn't neccesary since the soup is pretty filling on it's own. I didn't add any salt since the fish sauce had more than enough to flavor the dish. I get about 14 servings out of a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very good. Reminds me of the thai soup at our favorite restaurant. This is a a great winter dish, that was easy to make and yummy!. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Fantastic recipe with a broth just bursting with wonderful flavors. We generally stayed with the recipe other than adding about 3/4 pound of sea scallops, quartered and switching 2 out of 3 cans of regular coconut milk to the lite type to moderate the amount of saturated fat. Jessica, the recipe’s author, suggested in her review that some people prefer whole stalks of fresh lemongrass be added to the soup rather than mincing it, and we would do that in the future as the crunch from tiny pieces didn’t do much for us. We would also follow her lead to increase the red curry paste. While all the steps in the directions call for stirring the soup as successive ingredients are added, it doesn’t indicate to do so after adding the shrimp. It was only stirred once, and that was a mistake as some pieces of shrimp were a bit tough probably because of hot spots from using a gas stove . . . next time, the soup will be stirred often and possibly lopping off about 1 minute of cooking time during this next to last step. Jessica, you rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by ripken7
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe was fast, easy, and delicious! I added shrimp to mine. The only thing I would change: make a horizontal cut in the lemon grass, and before serving take it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
It was good but it didn't wow me. I served with rice and scallions on the side and threw the leftover rice and onions in the leftover soup. The next day I cut up some potatoes and cooked them in chicken broth. Added them to the soup and with the rice and potatoes it was more like a stew. Much better but still needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Excellent soup!!! Thanks for sharing it! As good Or better than the restaurant variety. I didn't use curry because it's not my favorite flavor (plus I wanted it to be whiter in color). So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Outstanding! I added a shallot and celery to have similar vegetables to my favorite Thai restaurant in Independence (Cleveland), Ohio and the flavor was just perfect. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great soup. Everyone loved it. Spice factor depends on the type of curry paste you use, and mine DEFINITELY added a whole lot of spice. I ersonally thought there was way too many mushrooms in it, but maybe I just sliced them too thin(?). Didn't deter from the taste though. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States