The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This soup is excellent! I use the coconut milk broth as a base, and add an subtract items based on what I have available, e.g., mushrooms, pumpkin, squash, sweet potato, tofu... Always turns out rich, creamy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
The soup shrimp soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
BEST THAI COCONUT SOUP EVER! I followed everything with the four following exceptions: 1. I used chicken thighs. I baked them while my soup was simmering, and then cut them into chunks before adding them to my soup. 2. I used the lemongrass from the tube. You need to use about 3 tbsp. 3. I used 1 tbsp of curry paste for added flavor. 4. I used portobello mushrooms versus shiitake. Once I added the lime juice I let it simmer for another 10 minutes to make sure the sauce was creamy and not oily spots. Along with everyone else I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amber_eileen
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this recipe vegan and it turned out great. Instead of using shrimp and mushrooms (fiance doesn't like them) I used carrots, broccoli, bok choy, baby corn cobs and bamboo shoots. I also used soy sauce instead of fish sauce and for the chicken broth I used a "chicken flavour" bouillon that is made from all vegetable ingredients. I also used the lemon grass paste as I went to two different grocery stores and could not find fresh at either. I felt after adding 3 cans of coconut milk (I used light coconut milk) that a lot of the great intense flavours got lost, that being said I had to add a lot more lemon grass and curry (I used green curry) and a bit more sugar and soy sauce. Next time I would probably reduce it to two cans. I also added some cayenne pepper and chilli flakes for spice. Overall, the soup turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent soup! Used red curry sauce and some hot peppers. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I was really worried my two teenage daughters wouldn't eat it, simply because the smell after adding the fish sauce. They admitted they were worried too! However, after letting the ingredients do their thing-my daughters and I thought this was super tasty! Definitely will make again sometime, but will be adding some hot Sriracha sauce to my bowl. Could have done without the lemongrass pieces, but overall-very good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John_3_3_3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schertz, Texas, USA
Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This soup is perfect. I did not add any sugar, and did not need salt. I couldnt afford shitake mushrooms, so I used those cheaper ones in the grocery store. I added peas and carrots. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
great soup! I bought the thai lemon grass already chopped up & boiled with the ginger then drained the lemon grass & ginger like another person wrote. Someone else wrote about thai coconut milk which does make a big difference.I also bought by gourmet garden thai herb & spice blend (lemon grass, ginger, cilantro, garlic, & chili pepper) I added 1Tbsp. Instead of just using shitake mushrooms I used a mix of baby bella, shitake, & oyster. I added chicken, broccoli, sugar snaps, sweet bell pepper, green onions, & rice noodles. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Pretty tasty. I let it cook on the stove a little too long and the coconut milk almost started to curdle, so watch out. I added green peppers and red onions. I think I'll substitute sweet white onions for the red next time. Definitely added more red curry paste than the recipe called for. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was easy and delicious!! I didn't have any fresh ginger- I used powder, so next time will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States