The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Pretty tasty. I let it cook on the stove a little too long and the coconut milk almost started to curdle, so watch out. I added green peppers and red onions. I think I'll substitute sweet white onions for the red next time. Definitely added more red curry paste than the recipe called for. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was easy and delicious!! I didn't have any fresh ginger- I used powder, so next time will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
excellent will make again... was missing the thai soup by my old job... not again.. i can make it at home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was SO good!!!! Here are some of the changes I made though: I cut the lemon grass too small and it's hard to pick out/ literally hard to eat, so I'd cut 2 stocks in bigger pieces I used like 4 Tablespoons of red curry paste haha I used 1 T of fish sauce, I don't like it too fishy I used Light coconut milk used white mushrooms cause I think they're way better :) I also shredded a rotisserie chicken instead of using shrimp and squeezed 4 whole limes in. I also added broccoli, green beans, little corns, bock choy, green onion (all at the end), and choped half a yellow Onion that I put in when the chicken broth was boiling so it gave flavor/ got really soft. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
So good! I added a little curry powder and about a tsp. of lime zest. I was amazed to see the difference in brands of canned coconut milk. I picked up several cans of it on the aisle with the powdered and shelf life milk. Then I saw it in the chinese food section labeled Thai Coconut Milk and bought several there. Upon opening it was clear that they were different. The Thai product was creamy and thick on the top ( I have seen that referenced in other Thai recipes) The Thai product was clearly superior. Look for it. I will make this again. It was great without noodles or rice, very filling in and of itself for a meal for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
It was okay a little bland for my taste...added more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Made this for the a family of 5, 4 of us loved it so 4 stars. 3 people don't like shrimp so I used chicken instead, also added toasted rice. Very nice soup, my 10 year old loved, loved it! I added extra lime to mine and totally agreed. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This soup was the first Thai dish I have ever made that came out just like the restaurant. I made a stock by boiling the shimp shells, lemon grass and a few slices of ginger in the chicken broth for 20 minutes. I then strained it and made the soup as directed except for the chopped lemon grass since I had the flavor in the stock. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I also used one can of drained straw mushrooms, more Thai than Shiitakes, try chicken (boneless) I also used two stalks of lemon grass check out Thai reciepe for Tom Yum Ghai, overall good reciepe adding green beans and cabbage? Stew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States