The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I also add crunchy spaghetti squash...Cut your raw squash in half lengthwise...run a knife around the outside of the seeds then take a spoon and scrape out all of the seeds in one big scrape...place your squash cut side down in 1-2" of water...cover with wax paper...microwave the squash half for only 7 minutes...while I am cooking the second squash half I run cold water on the back of the first one for about 1-2 minutes...this permits me to quickly, without further steaming, scrape the long strands our of the squash leaving it still crunchy...I add this to the soup at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Very tasty. Completely pleased. Not spicy at all. Love the cilantro. I added curry paste to taste. I made double batch and much went to waste, only because it yielded too much. Its appetizer like. This is not a dinner soup, this will not fill you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I really liked this recipe, but Jason wasn't a huge fan of the mushrooms. Get the dried shitake ones in the asian aisle. Would like to try again with lite coconut milk. Added baby corn and would like more vegetables next time. Could be spicier Used the pre-cooked salad shrimp Will make again just so I can use the fish sauce. Kept the lemon grass whole and just retrieved them after simmering and grated the lime peel right into the soup also used ginger instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Pretty Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyLi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a four star because I consider it a great base and very easy to adjust ingredients to what is on hand. Using red curry paste, I more than doubled the paste, but still was a pretty mild dish. Next time, I'll either add some spicier curry paste or perhaps some thai chiles or at the least cayenne pepper to kick it up a notch (or several). Also will probably substitute sliced chicken as shrimp is never a big hit in my house. Cook longer to allow flavors to meld. Try chopped bell pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Amazing...except I used raw Coconut Palm Sugar and a bit of raw honey for the sweetness, and raw coconut nut oil, and added lime zest and a little fresh thai basil! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Atherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I am SO happy to have found this recipe. The broth tastes exactly like the Tom Kha Kai soup I used to have at my favorite Thai restaurant. I've always wanted to make it, but all the recipes I looked up had crazy ingredients like galangal or lime leaves. I love that this recipe has ingredients that are easy for me to find without sacrificing any of the amazing taste! I did end up adding about three tablespoons of red curry paste to make it spicy enough, and next time I will definitely just throw the lemongrass in whole and then take it out...I wasn't a fan of the little fibrous pieces. I used chicken instead of shrimp and added water chestnuts. Next time I'm going to make a vegetarian version using this broth with tofu, carrots, broccoli, snap peas, baby corn, water chestnuts and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
No leftovers = fantastic recipe! I accidentally got two cans of coconut milk instead of three so substituted one can of whole cow milk and I have to say I think it was good that I did because the coconut milk was so rich even with just two cans that it may have been overwhelming if there had been three. I added quite a bit of extra curry as well as mixing green onions with the cilantro for a garnish. It was so good! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe, brings authentic soup home however I would add more curry paste and decrease the coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was AWESOME! tonight served in a bowl over steam fried noodles with dutch crunch rolls on the side. I split the lemongrass stalk in 4 pieces and then removed it just before serving as the recipe submitter suggested in their review. This soup was amazing! Easy too and next time, definitely more red curry paste. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 141-150 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States