The Best Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This soup was so delicious and relatively easy to make. I was missing a few things, so I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil, white sugar for brown sugar and I did not have any cilantro. But it was still incredibly delicious! Just like the soups I crave in the little local thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Just like my fav. Thai place makes it. Well except that I substitute a couple chicken breast for the shrimp. Wonderful stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvktr2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stonewall, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
YUMMY in my tummy!! It definitely reminded me of my favorite Thai restaurant's coconut soup. This really is a good recipe and I didn't even have all the ingredients and it was still delicious. I used shrimp paste instead of curry paste, I didn't have lemongrass so I settled for lemon juice and I used green onions instead of the cilantro. Next time I will get all the ingredients, because I know it will probably be even better. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twitter1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
A very popular Thai restaurant near us makes this and I loved it so much I looked it up and found this recipe...and it does NOT disappoint, it is just as good! The first time I did mince a stalk of lemongrass, but the second time I just used the paste to save time (and wasn't thrilled about the chuncks of lemongrass in the soup). I also use the tube of ginger paste, and it was STILL excellent! I used the cilantro the first time, but the soup is sooo good I felt like the cilantro overpowered the taste so I didn't use cilantro again. The restaurant near us uses chicken instead of shrimp, so I'm going to try that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Great recipe. Ended up using 5 teaspoons of red curry paste to get the spice level I wanted. Served over brown basmati rice I cooked in coconut milk and chicken broth. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
It was super salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Very tasty. I did not use lemon grass, but I did use all of the other ingredients needed. A complicated thing to make, but most definitely worth it. So delicious, and it impresses others easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
In google I simply typed "best thai soup" and this page came to the top, fitting as this recipe is my idea of the perfect Tom Kha. This was already my favorite dish but now I can make it at home and my family love it. There is absolutely no reason to tinker with the recipe we just simply add additional slices of chicken breast which makes it more of a meal. Now to find the perfect Thai Green Curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I love this recipe. I believe the actual name is Tom Kha Gai, and it is one of my favourite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Add a lot of extra curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States