The Best Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This is an awesome recipe. We ate it for dinner two nights in a row, it was so good. Having made this so many times, I've played with it a bit and here is how I make it now: After preparing the beef/bean mixture and putting it into the bottom of the pan, I put on the olives, tomatoes, and cheese. Then I bake it and put on the sour cream and green onions (subbed these for regular onion) when it comes out of the oven. It is sooooooo much better that way. The sour cream retains its creamy texture, and the green onions retain their bite. If the sour cream is baked, it gets kind of curdled and we like it better the other way. Very very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
Very good. I left the onions out because my husband is not a onion eater and added sour cream after it had been cooked. Next time I will try it as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I love this version of layered dip. It's definitely the best one around ... and I think I've made them all! I use refried beans with sausage for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This is a fantastic dip recipe. Or should I say a good starting point? Well, here's how I made it- I took the beef and bean mixture (to which I added the jalapenos) and spread it in the 9 x 13 pan and put the cheese on top of that and baked it. When it came out of the oven, I added the sour cream and all the fresh ingredients on top of that (after cooling for a bit). The dip went fast! To be honest, this didn't make nearly enough for the crowds we are used to. Next time, I will probably triple. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
We love Mexican and Tex-Mex foods and this is definately the best Taco dip that I have tried. To eat right out of the oven I made it as directed, but to take to a party, I added the shredded cheese right before I left the house and covered the dish. It was just as yummy as if I had gotten it right out of the oven! And there were no leftovers, in fact there was good natured fighting on who got to scrape the dish clean! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
This was a big hit - no left overs. If you have many people I suggest making two dishes, ours was gone so quick that many people didnt even get to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theboyzmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
Brought this dish to my in-laws as a snack and was very enjoyable. I would definately make it again for a party or a get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I followed other reviewers advice and put the sour cream on after cooking. A good idea -- the cold sour cream was great on top. However, for the rest of the mix, I did some serious doctoring. The base recipe is bland, but I love the ingredients and will next time add a packet of hot taco seasoning to make it just right. I highly recommend this recipe as it can be easily suited to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
SOUR CREAM: TO BAKE OR NOT TO BAKE: I decided to make this instead of my standard mexican dips for a party since it's cold out and bc I wanted to try something new! After reading all the reviews I could not decide whether to bake the sour cream on the dip or 2 layer it after baking so I decided to make 2 smaller dips and taste both!! (plus I hate when people review a recipe after changing it!!!) The first I made almost exactly as stated (I spiced up the meat mixture some bc it wasn't quite spicy enough for us). I found layering cold sour cream onto the hot meat 2 be difficult. Next time i will sit the sc out &/or stir it while making the meat mixture. I did forget to put the jalapenos tomatoes and onions on b4 baking :( & wish i had done that. WIll next time. Result: Very good!! The other one I layerd the meat w/tomatoes green onions and cheese and baked it then topped it with sour cream mixed with taco seasoning (YUM) & more veggies. It wasn't as pretty but tasted even better to us!!! My opinion is : top the meat mixture with sour cream mixed with taco seasoning, layer jalapeno peppers (if you like spicy bc the over bring more heat out of the peppers) green onion and tomatoes, cheese then bake then top with more veggies (more jalapenos, tomatoes, green onions, olives etc) and serve with a side of salsa :) to sum it up.... Delicious dip whether the sour cream is baked or not and this dip will be put in rotation for mexican nights and parties! Thanks for reading my novel :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I have to say, people at my Superbowl Party said it was delicious. This will now be my signature party dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States