The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I make a similar Sweet and sour meatball. I find that adding 1/4c of ketchup really adds a tangy flavour that this recipe seemed to lack . I also substitute flour with cornstarch. It gives the meatballs a beautiful glazed effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made the sauce, substituting the pineapple juice for water and cutting the brown sugar in half. I also added about 1/4 - 1/2 tsp of dry mustard, for a little twang. I cheated a little and used store bought frozen meatballs that were heated in the oven. Threw the meatballs in a crockpot, threw the cooked sauce over it and let it hang out for an hour. It was a hit with everyone, including teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was terrific. The only changes I made was to use about 1/4 cup of onion flakes instead of regular onion and I almost doubled the recipe. I still did not have any leftovers. My kids loved it. I also cooked my meatballs first in the oven for 20 minutes to keep them from breaking apart and then I don't have to watch them. Much easier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This sweet and sour recipe was excellent! I've tried many, this one is a keeper. It was also nice to have beef with sweet and sour instead of chicken or pork always. I will be making this sauce for lots of things besides these meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I was looking for something different to make with hamburger. This was an excellent change of pace. I served it over white rice and with a tossed salad. I added some drained crushed pineapple to the sauce for a little extra flavor. I also browned the meatballs and then placed them in a casserole and covered them with the sauce and baked at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes covered with aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Making the meatballs I added bread pieces soaked in milk instead of bread crumbs and added an additional egg. With the sauce I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Chicken broth instead of water. To top it off added pineapple chunks and green onion to garnish. It was exceptionally delicious, the sauce is also excellent for spareribs and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
After frying the meatballs and thickening the sauce,I placed the cooked meatballs in the oven to complete the cooking process. These meatballs certainly live up to their name. Absolutely delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A very good recipe. I seasoned my meatballs more to my taste, though. This recipe called for no salt or other seasonings for the meatballs! I did double the sauce ( we like a lot) but I only did 1 and half cups of brown sugar (not the full 2 cups) and it was plenty sweet. A very good recipe. I also added a little ketchup and used cornstarch instead of flour to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
My husband enjoys food but rarely comments on a meal unless I ask his opinion. First bite of these meatballs, he commented on how great they were! They were so quick and easy and I'm sure will make great leftovers. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This recipe was great although I found it to be a little more sweet than sour. I chose to add some garlic to the sauce and used ground chicken instead of beef. Overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States