The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe deserves a 10 star rating. Don't hesitate to make it because it is that good. My husband snubbed his nose at me when he saw me making it, but as it was cooking he commented on how good it smelled. Well, it tasted 100 times better than it smelled. I used corn starch to thicken and did add in a little ketchup because after tasting it, I felt it would add in a little more kick. Served with rice and a garden salad. YUMMY. Even better the next day but do cut the meatballs in half so that they warm up completely for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This review might not be fair because I only used about half the amount of brown sugar the recipe calls for but I think if I had used all of it I would have hated it. I also used a little ketchup and corn starch instead of flower. They were good but I think the sauce just was not my thing but there was nothing wrong with them at all. Maybe I just don't like sweet and sour on anything other than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Tastes great and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I LOVE THESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I used too much onion and they fell apart. but they were sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lanay
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These were so good! I got full and still wanted to keep eating! my boyfriend is allergic to chicken so i'm always looking for ways to change things up this was great! i looked at previous reviews and changed tweaked the sauce by using pineapple juice instead of water, corn starch instead of flour and added 4 teaspoons of ketchup. With the meatballs i browned them a lil on both sides and to firm them a lil more i put them in a 350 degree oven for about 10-15 minutes then added them to the sauce and cooked about 20 minutes! So yummy over brown rice! will make again my boyfriend scraped his plate clean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Stamps, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Made this sauce with frozen meatballs for a fast meal over rice The only things I did different were to add some garlic powder and red pepper flakes. I would definitely make again. Thanks the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Even with less sugar, these were too sweet for my taste and they didn’t go well with rice. They did appeal to my children and they may also be good as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I halved the brown sugar and I still found this really sweet. I didn't really care for the flavour at all - there was nothing distinct about it. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Yum! I cut only slightly back on the brown sugar and thought these were absolutely delicious! Everything comes together so nicely! I served these over jasmine rice with plenty of sauce and a side salad. Great dinner for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States