The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Made the sauce recipe today for supper and the whole family loved it! I stuck with my tried and true recipe for the meatballs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanessaW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellyftw
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I pretty much followed the recipe. The meatballs turned out bland and the sauce was too sweet; I personally didn't like how this dish turned out :\ I suggest looking through the many reviews with helpful tips before making these meatballs. Doubt I'll be using this recipe in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellyftw

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Super easy to make and bursting with flavor! They just melt in your mouth! My husband and I had them two days in a row and still couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
WAY too sweet. I tried redeeming it with more onion and some chopped celery, but I still felt like I was eating dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victorian_soul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
These got RAVE reviews at my party! My fiance says it's the best thing he has ever had. I subbed the water for pineapple juice which I think added a lot to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briggitte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This recipe did not work for me. My meatballs turned out to be tough and the meat needs salt and pepper. The sauce did not help to flavor the bland meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I just made these meatballs for my fiance, and he can't stop raving about them! He's glad he "put a ring on it!" ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snaredrum46

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
OK, so I'm giving this 5 stars, but that's with a lot of changes. I made them as appetizers for a shower, kept them small and put toothpicks in them for easy pick up from a baking pan. I made the recipe with 3# turkey meat (increasing all the other ingredients X3 of course) and made about 55 meatballs. I spent a lot of time reading MANY of the reviews and this is what I came up with. PEOPLE SAID: Add onion soup mix to meat--did that Bake instead of fry the meat--did that Cut sugar in 1/2--did that Cut soy sauce in 1/2--did that Use cornstarch instead of flour--did that Add pineapple to sauce--did that (1/2 can fruit) with all the juice added to the water Add red pepper to sauce--did that Add ketchup--Used General Tsao Sauce instead of ketchup. They turned out great. Made them a day ahead and put them in the oven to warm before serving. The only thing that I think I'll do different (even though people disagreed) is to add some General Tsao's right into the meat as well as to the sauce. I think it would add to the flavor. Hope this condensed version of comments will help keep you from spending a lot of time searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
SO SO SO good!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only change I made was I used minced dry onions instead of chopping one. I usually don't do that but that's what I had and I didn't want to go to the store for an onion. I loved these so much! They are so easy, and so good! I laid them over white rice w/ broccoli on the side. They are also good leftover. I am making them again this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Just made these for dinner.. they were so easy to make and yummy! I did add 1/4 cup of ketchup to the sauce as recommended by another reviewer. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Holbiski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States