The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I wanted to make sweet and sour meatballs for dinner but didn't have what I needed for my usual recipe so I went looking for a recipe that I did have everything for. I decided to give this a try and was glad I did. I made my own meatballs but followed the sauce recipe exactly as it is written. My whole family loved it! And that includes an extremely picky 4 year old, a somewhat picky 3 year old and a 9 month old baby. It was a hit and I will definitely be making it again! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This recipe is so good! I feel the sauce can virtually work with any type of meat. I substituted the beef with very lean turkey, and the distilled white vinegar with garlic infused red wine vinegar, and also added 1/4 cup of ketchup to the sauce. I also made my own breadcrumbs, adding lemon pepper to it. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
If I've used the amount of sugar listed, for sure this would've been more sweet. Glad I halved the sugar as others suggested and added 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard. I also added a tablespoon of ketchup and will probably add more the next time and play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is a great base recipe, but is kind of bland as it is. I added some onions, red pepper, and ginger which I sauteed before adding the rest of the sauce ingredients. It was great, family liked it, I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
So many of these reviews are based on major changes, but I don't think this recipe needs changes. It is really good as written. To me it is comfort food meets sweet and sour. I do suggest that you flavor the ground beef to your personal taste. A hint for keeping your meatballs from falling apart: When you are rolling them, don't force any onions into the meatball. Let the excess onions fall into the bowl as you roll the meatballs, and that will give you a good consistency. I didn't have any problems with them falling apart. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
These were delicious! To the meatballs I used bread instead of bread crumbs and also added some Ken's Honey Teriyaki Marinade and a clove of chopped garlic. To the sauce I added some of the Ken's marinade, allspice and ketchup as another reviewer suggested. I'll definitely make these again. I made them with the recipe- White and Wild Rice Pilaf. They were great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeslieS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Made exactly as written but did add pineapple. And green pepper really good thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlena Carpenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Loved loved loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made the sauce exactly like the recipe said; the only thing I did differently was I cooked the sauce for about 5 minutes to thicken it. I used frozen meatballs (beef, about 28 meatballs in the bag; the sauce covered all of them with and then some!), and put everything in the crock pot for about an hour and a half. It thickened up a little more, and was pretty good! My friends all said they liked it as well. I will make this again, and next time I might try adding some ketchup, like one reviewer suggested. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graygirl364

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
it was so good i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States