The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
One thing I'd add for the rookie chef... I made these in a crock pot so I just whipped together the sauce and dumped it over frozen meatballs to cook for 4 hours. I didn't realize that I needed to thicken the sauce! So I had to scoop out the meatballs and thicken the sauce, then re-pour over the meatballs. It wasn't a huge deal - simply a learning experience. I actually just made these again tonight and made sure to thicken the sauce first. The first time I had to use corn starch to thicken, tonight I made the recipe as is and it worked beautifully. Everyone loved them! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was sooo good. I did 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of a whole cup and it was still more sweet than necessary. I also added yellow/orange (or red bell) pepper to the sauce. The meat balls where so delicate they were hard to brown without breaking them up. I might add just a little more bread crumbs next time. I also cut out 1/2 cup water for a thicker sauce. Mmmmwha! Loved it served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I had 2 lbs of ground beef, so i decided to double the recipe. I started off making EXACTLY as written..but was skeptical on the amount of sugar, thinking it would be too sweet. so i only added 3/4 for a doubled recipe. For my tastes it was still to sweet and not enough sour. so i proceeded to try to make it more of our liking..adding 1/4 cup of ketchup and a huge squeeze of Dijon mustard..for some zip. Popped it all into the slow cooker, (after browning the meatballs) neat the end i gave them a taste, and still seemed like something was missing to me..honestly they were too sweet still. i added a HUGE dash of red chili pepper flakes..and it cooked it some more. That gave it that underlying spice to even out the sweet. Overall its a great starter recipe..and it would be great for those who like really sweet foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I found this recipe a bit too sweet, I feel like half the sugar could have been used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Mutch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was amazing. It didn't really have a sour flavour to it, but the sweetness from the brown sugar was all I needed! My family loved this recipe. I can't wait to make it again. I served it with steamed white rice and freshly chopped green onions on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Ir was good but I expected a more sweet and sour taste. It just tasted sweet. I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eraina Jones-Casey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was a winner! I made it exactly as the recipe said and it was delicious! Served with white rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
The best I've found so far for sweet and sour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I've made a recipe very similar to this and it's amazing!! Great for an appetizer for the Super Bowl or for a potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Morsie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States