The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
My husband loved these as is, I wasnt so sure. I think I would use less brown sugar next time so they werent quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Everyone liked this! My husband and four kids (11-20), and I! Seconds for all the kids! Very easy to make. I made as listed for the sauce, but used a package of Simeks meatballs from the grocery store because I had them on hand and was short on time! We will definitely be making this again. Served with green beans which went well with it. Also, made a side serving for my vegetarian daughter using one of her Asian soy burgers in place of the meatballs. Rave reviews from her too. We all thought it might be a bit strange, but were all pleasantly surprised. Thanks for an easy, last minute recipe that more than met our expectations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
So delicous! I read some reviews and substituted cornstarch for flour, added 1/4 cup ketchup. My only issue is that these were a bit sweet. I think I'll do around 1/2 or 3/4 the amount of brown sugar next time. Overall an AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe deserves a 10 star rating. Don't hesitate to make it because it is that good. My husband snubbed his nose at me when he saw me making it, but as it was cooking he commented on how good it smelled. Well, it tasted 100 times better than it smelled. I used corn starch to thicken and did add in a little ketchup because after tasting it, I felt it would add in a little more kick. Served with rice and a garden salad. YUMMY. Even better the next day but do cut the meatballs in half so that they warm up completely for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This review might not be fair because I only used about half the amount of brown sugar the recipe calls for but I think if I had used all of it I would have hated it. I also used a little ketchup and corn starch instead of flower. They were good but I think the sauce just was not my thing but there was nothing wrong with them at all. Maybe I just don't like sweet and sour on anything other than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Tastes great and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I LOVE THESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Kallas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I used too much onion and they fell apart. but they were sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lanay
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
These were so good! I got full and still wanted to keep eating! my boyfriend is allergic to chicken so i'm always looking for ways to change things up this was great! i looked at previous reviews and changed tweaked the sauce by using pineapple juice instead of water, corn starch instead of flour and added 4 teaspoons of ketchup. With the meatballs i browned them a lil on both sides and to firm them a lil more i put them in a 350 degree oven for about 10-15 minutes then added them to the sauce and cooked about 20 minutes! So yummy over brown rice! will make again my boyfriend scraped his plate clean!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Stamps, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Made this sauce with frozen meatballs for a fast meal over rice The only things I did different were to add some garlic powder and red pepper flakes. I would definitely make again. Thanks the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States