The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Didn't turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Good starting point! I used cornflake crumbs in my meatballs (what I had on hand), added a can of pineapple chunks (using the juice in place of some of the water) and increased the vinegar to 1/3 cup. Also used cornstarch to thicken instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Made these for my husband and his buddy who stayed for supper, and they both gave it a thumbs up. They said I could cook try new recipes any time if they were as good as this one. I subbed oatmeal for the bread crumbs and doubled the sauce recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Yummy and easy. Great with rice. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made this recipe was very good but I made my meatballs with pork, 2 slices fresh bread, garlic powder, salt and pepper, and soya sauce as a binder instead of egg. To the sauce I added 3 tablespoons crushed pineapple and half a green pepper. It was great but I would half the brown sugar . was more sweet than sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
It is a 5 star recipe, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
One thing I'd add for the rookie chef... I made these in a crock pot so I just whipped together the sauce and dumped it over frozen meatballs to cook for 4 hours. I didn't realize that I needed to thicken the sauce! So I had to scoop out the meatballs and thicken the sauce, then re-pour over the meatballs. It wasn't a huge deal - simply a learning experience. I actually just made these again tonight and made sure to thicken the sauce first. The first time I had to use corn starch to thicken, tonight I made the recipe as is and it worked beautifully. Everyone loved them! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This was sooo good. I did 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of a whole cup and it was still more sweet than necessary. I also added yellow/orange (or red bell) pepper to the sauce. The meat balls where so delicate they were hard to brown without breaking them up. I might add just a little more bread crumbs next time. I also cut out 1/2 cup water for a thicker sauce. Mmmmwha! Loved it served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I had 2 lbs of ground beef, so i decided to double the recipe. I started off making EXACTLY as written..but was skeptical on the amount of sugar, thinking it would be too sweet. so i only added 3/4 for a doubled recipe. For my tastes it was still to sweet and not enough sour. so i proceeded to try to make it more of our liking..adding 1/4 cup of ketchup and a huge squeeze of Dijon mustard..for some zip. Popped it all into the slow cooker, (after browning the meatballs) neat the end i gave them a taste, and still seemed like something was missing to me..honestly they were too sweet still. i added a HUGE dash of red chili pepper flakes..and it cooked it some more. That gave it that underlying spice to even out the sweet. Overall its a great starter recipe..and it would be great for those who like really sweet foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States