The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Tweaks: Added 1 green capsicum, chunkily cut, one onion, quartered then layers separated, carrot sliced into circles, small can of pineapple pieces natural juice included. Followed the other comments, and used 1/2 cup + 2 tbs brown sugar, doubled the vinegar and added the 1/4 cup tomato sauce. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I thought it was a lot of onion so I used half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. I followed the suggestions of others and cut the brown sugar in half, and subbed the flour for corn starch. 1 1/2 tbsp. When I tasted, the sauce wasn't quite sweet enough so I added a few tbsp. of white sugar, which got it to where I wanted it. The sauce was missing something, and I liked the idea of the pineapple, but didn't have any. So, I added about 1/2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar. It gave the sauce just what it needed. The whole family liked it, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this recipe with no substitutions and it got a 4+ from my kids! I will make it again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
No one in my family liked this. I prepared as written. The meat had little flavor and the sauce was runny and tasted odd. It was very sweet. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I used chicken teriyaki meatballs, but this is a fantastic sweet & sour sauce! I used apple cider vinegar and added chopped pineapple and diced peppers during the simmer. A keeper, and easily adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
WOW...delicious sauce that made for a deliciously easy meal in the crock pot! I used 2 lbs frozen chicken teriyaki meatballs with pineapple (so good and easy), simmered the sauce ingredients on the stove for a few minutes to thicken, then combined all in crock pot on low 3-4 hrs. Sauce Tips: 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 ketchup, 1/2 tsp ground mustard, salt and pepper. I also added 1/2 cup caramelized minced onions that really made it. Served with basmati rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very yummy! Added 1 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard, used white sugar about 1/2 cup I/o brown. At the very end added some scallions to bring out onion flavor.....very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Once again these are too sweet and not enough flavor profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
made with veggie meatballs, but kept delicious sauce the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States