The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I make a similar Sweet and sour meatball. I find that adding 1/4c of ketchup really adds a tangy flavour that this recipe seemed to lack . I also substitute flour with cornstarch. It gives the meatballs a beautiful glazed effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made the sauce, substituting the pineapple juice for water and cutting the brown sugar in half. I also added about 1/4 - 1/2 tsp of dry mustard, for a little twang. I cheated a little and used store bought frozen meatballs that were heated in the oven. Threw the meatballs in a crockpot, threw the cooked sauce over it and let it hang out for an hour. It was a hit with everyone, including teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This was terrific. The only changes I made was to use about 1/4 cup of onion flakes instead of regular onion and I almost doubled the recipe. I still did not have any leftovers. My kids loved it. I also cooked my meatballs first in the oven for 20 minutes to keep them from breaking apart and then I don't have to watch them. Much easier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This sweet and sour recipe was excellent! I've tried many, this one is a keeper. It was also nice to have beef with sweet and sour instead of chicken or pork always. I will be making this sauce for lots of things besides these meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Making the meatballs I added bread pieces soaked in milk instead of bread crumbs and added an additional egg. With the sauce I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Chicken broth instead of water. To top it off added pineapple chunks and green onion to garnish. It was exceptionally delicious, the sauce is also excellent for spareribs and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I was looking for something different to make with hamburger. This was an excellent change of pace. I served it over white rice and with a tossed salad. I added some drained crushed pineapple to the sauce for a little extra flavor. I also browned the meatballs and then placed them in a casserole and covered them with the sauce and baked at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes covered with aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
After frying the meatballs and thickening the sauce,I placed the cooked meatballs in the oven to complete the cooking process. These meatballs certainly live up to their name. Absolutely delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
A very good recipe. I seasoned my meatballs more to my taste, though. This recipe called for no salt or other seasonings for the meatballs! I did double the sauce ( we like a lot) but I only did 1 and half cups of brown sugar (not the full 2 cups) and it was plenty sweet. A very good recipe. I also added a little ketchup and used cornstarch instead of flour to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
My husband enjoys food but rarely comments on a meal unless I ask his opinion. First bite of these meatballs, he commented on how great they were! They were so quick and easy and I'm sure will make great leftovers. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
OK, so I'm giving this 5 stars, but that's with a lot of changes. I made them as appetizers for a shower, kept them small and put toothpicks in them for easy pick up from a baking pan. I made the recipe with 3# turkey meat (increasing all the other ingredients X3 of course) and made about 55 meatballs. I spent a lot of time reading MANY of the reviews and this is what I came up with. PEOPLE SAID: Add onion soup mix to meat--did that Bake instead of fry the meat--did that Cut sugar in 1/2--did that Cut soy sauce in 1/2--did that Use cornstarch instead of flour--did that Add pineapple to sauce--did that (1/2 can fruit) with all the juice added to the water Add red pepper to sauce--did that Add ketchup--Used General Tsao Sauce instead of ketchup. They turned out great. Made them a day ahead and put them in the oven to warm before serving. The only thing that I think I'll do different (even though people disagreed) is to add some General Tsao's right into the meat as well as to the sauce. I think it would add to the flavor. Hope this condensed version of comments will help keep you from spending a lot of time searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States