The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I'm in the process of making these meatballs and I'm not sure if I'm just not reading between the lines but my meatballs completely crumbled either while I was "browning" them or while "stirring often" in the sauce. What am I missing?? Smells delicious though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Meatballs came out good but the sauce is a little too sweet for me which is weird because I love Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie M. Odum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Very sweet but good. My kids who are super picky loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nisse05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I enjoyed the sauce, but found that adding a whole onion (I used a medium sized onion) was entirely too much. Next time I will use maybe half and onion and mince very fine or, as another reviewer mentioned, use onion flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. I would advise using low fat turkey instead of beef and draining the water/fat as you cook them first. Then add all the other ingredients and I add barbeque sauce for the tang you need in them because I saw that in another recipe for Sweet and Sour meatballs and think that is what it needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I doubled the vinegar and bread crumbs, added salt and an extra egg to the meatballs. Turned out delicious - just as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I wanted to make sweet and sour meatballs for dinner but didn't have what I needed for my usual recipe so I went looking for a recipe that I did have everything for. I decided to give this a try and was glad I did. I made my own meatballs but followed the sauce recipe exactly as it is written. My whole family loved it! And that includes an extremely picky 4 year old, a somewhat picky 3 year old and a 9 month old baby. It was a hit and I will definitely be making it again! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This recipe is so good! I feel the sauce can virtually work with any type of meat. I substituted the beef with very lean turkey, and the distilled white vinegar with garlic infused red wine vinegar, and also added 1/4 cup of ketchup to the sauce. I also made my own breadcrumbs, adding lemon pepper to it. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
If I've used the amount of sugar listed, for sure this would've been more sweet. Glad I halved the sugar as others suggested and added 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard. I also added a tablespoon of ketchup and will probably add more the next time and play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This is a great base recipe, but is kind of bland as it is. I added some onions, red pepper, and ginger which I sauteed before adding the rest of the sauce ingredients. It was great, family liked it, I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States