The Best Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is what I have to say about this recipe. I wept with joy at the first bite. Do you know how hard it is to eat and cry at the same time? Yet, I pressed on. After that, I wept with sorrow, because there would be a last bite. Knowing that I would soon finish the succulent tri-tip steak that I had left in the marinade for a full day because I forgot I was going to cook it left me in a pool of tears... it was even harder to chew as I sobbed and sobbed... but I managed, oh yes. I managed. After a few minutes, I awoke from my bittersweet bliss, wiped away my tears and resolved myself to make this recipe... again and again. Oh joy! One thing to mention, though, is that I didn't have worchestershire sauce in the house, so I opted to use a certain brand steak sauce in its place (begins with an "A")as the flavor of that reminds me of the original ingredient. I'll be making this with the W sauce this week. I'll bet it's even tastier... Thanks for inventing it, YOU ROCK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Should leave out the oil as it prevents the tenderizing effect of the vinegar, oil meat just before grilling, otherwise perfect marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
792 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was excellent but after reading the review from the previous person I used balsamic vinegrette instead of the vinegar. It didn't overpower the other ingredients and made an excellent marinade. I will never buy marinade again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
537 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Wow..this marinade was fantastic! Don't let the simplicity of this recipe fool you..it really comes together. I made it exactly as written, went easy on the salt and marinaded for 2 hours. Hubby loved it and the kids asked when we could make steak like "that" again! I will be making this marinade again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I'm not sure if this is the "best" steak marinade I've ever had, but it's very good. I used low sodium soy sauce left out the salt and used a bit less oil for two good sized NY strips. I also added some fresh rosemary. I let these marinate all day before grilling and they had a very nice flavor. If you use a good quality balsamic it won't over power the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Made a good steak. The vinegar was the flavor that really stood out, maybe a bit more than it needed to. I think I'll try this again with a tad less vinegar and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I usually double all ingredients except for the olive oil, marinate for 1-4 hours (depending on how far ahead I've planned! lol) and then, while the steaks are cooking, boil the leftover marinade with about 1 tsp. cornstarch to make a delicious sauce to put on top of the grilled meat! Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMEasterling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I wouldn't change a THING, except to omit the salt as I feel the soya lends the perfect amount of salt to this marinade. I used it on some beautiful rib eye steaks which I was saving for a special occasion, and this marinade did the meat justice! Tx for a fab, fab, FAB recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I did not and would not change a thing in this recipe. This was the best I've made and far better than any bottled marinade that I've tried. As my family and I are eating this we're thinking, "okay, when can we have this again?" That's a sign of a good recipe! Thanks so much for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Yuck! Too much of a vinegar taste. I won't be making this ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

See how to make this sensational five-star steak marinade.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States