The Best Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is what I have to say about this recipe. I wept with joy at the first bite. Do you know how hard it is to eat and cry at the same time? Yet, I pressed on. After that, I wept with sorrow, because there would be a last bite. Knowing that I would soon finish the succulent tri-tip steak that I had left in the marinade for a full day because I forgot I was going to cook it left me in a pool of tears... it was even harder to chew as I sobbed and sobbed... but I managed, oh yes. I managed. After a few minutes, I awoke from my bittersweet bliss, wiped away my tears and resolved myself to make this recipe... again and again. Oh joy! One thing to mention, though, is that I didn't have worchestershire sauce in the house, so I opted to use a certain brand steak sauce in its place (begins with an "A")as the flavor of that reminds me of the original ingredient. I'll be making this with the W sauce this week. I'll bet it's even tastier... Thanks for inventing it, YOU ROCK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Should leave out the oil as it prevents the tenderizing effect of the vinegar, oil meat just before grilling, otherwise perfect marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
812 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was excellent but after reading the review from the previous person I used balsamic vinegrette instead of the vinegar. It didn't overpower the other ingredients and made an excellent marinade. I will never buy marinade again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Wow..this marinade was fantastic! Don't let the simplicity of this recipe fool you..it really comes together. I made it exactly as written, went easy on the salt and marinaded for 2 hours. Hubby loved it and the kids asked when we could make steak like "that" again! I will be making this marinade again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Made a good steak. The vinegar was the flavor that really stood out, maybe a bit more than it needed to. I think I'll try this again with a tad less vinegar and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I'm not sure if this is the "best" steak marinade I've ever had, but it's very good. I used low sodium soy sauce left out the salt and used a bit less oil for two good sized NY strips. I also added some fresh rosemary. I let these marinate all day before grilling and they had a very nice flavor. If you use a good quality balsamic it won't over power the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I usually double all ingredients except for the olive oil, marinate for 1-4 hours (depending on how far ahead I've planned! lol) and then, while the steaks are cooking, boil the leftover marinade with about 1 tsp. cornstarch to make a delicious sauce to put on top of the grilled meat! Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMEasterling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I wouldn't change a THING, except to omit the salt as I feel the soya lends the perfect amount of salt to this marinade. I used it on some beautiful rib eye steaks which I was saving for a special occasion, and this marinade did the meat justice! Tx for a fab, fab, FAB recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
OH....MY....GOODNESS!!!!! Soak a rib eye in this juice for about 5 hours, and DANG! Best steak that's ever graced my table! My wife, who DOESN'T LIKE STEAK, pounded a 16 oz. after tasting mine. Rich flavor, wonderful tenderizing, slight carmalization...what more can you ask for? Without a doubt the best ever. I've made this for approx 40 different people now, and literally each one has said that it's one of the best steaks that they have eaten. I've also added a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar at times to add a little sweetness and aid the caramelizing. Top your hot steak with a pat of Blue Cheese Butter (softened butter whipped w/blue cheese crumbles & then refrigerated) and you'll swear you've died. I'm making steaks again right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Yellowstone, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I did not and would not change a thing in this recipe. This was the best I've made and far better than any bottled marinade that I've tried. As my family and I are eating this we're thinking, "okay, when can we have this again?" That's a sign of a good recipe! Thanks so much for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

See how to make this sensational five-star steak marinade.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States