The Best Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have now made this twice and both times all asked for the dressing recipe. I followed exactly with the following exceptions :-). : I always start out using only half oil called for and then add to taste, did not add salt to dressing, and lastly used just a squirt of Srichachi hot sauce. Dressing to die for, yummy, sticks to the leaves and not overly oily..very tangy. Salad itself can have stuff added to your tastes: I used sundried tomatoes and next time will also add fresh thin sliced mushrooms. Making for Christmas Eve dinner to cut the richness of the man dish. To let you know how good this is, it's the first recipe I've ever reviewed and I've used allrecipes.com for years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dottie Worthington
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I think this is an easy and great recipe. Easy to add your favorite veggies in and also to dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Worthington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Wonderful recipe!!! This will be a staple in our house! Used olive oil instead of vegetable, and red wine vinegar in place of the apple cider vinegar but the rest was the same. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This review is for the dressing only. I saw this mentioned on the Buzz the other day and thought it would be good as a chicken marinade and basting sauce. And I'm happy to report, I was right! We loved it! I made half the dressing as written, but cut back on the salt, adding it to taste. I made it a day ahead to allow the flavors to meld, and the next morning I poured some over skinless boneless chicken and let it marinate all day. When grilling, Hubs basted the chicken with some additional dressing, which gave it a beautiful sheen. Hubs couldn't stop raving about it, so I'm sure we'll be repeating this one and often! And, I'm sure I'll be trying the salad as well. It sounds wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Great recipe! The dressing is really good. I only used about half the oil, which was plenty, and used pine nuts instead of almonds and sunflower seeds since that is what I had on hand. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
That salad itself was good, the dressing was not. I did not care of the taste of ketchup in the dressing. It ruined it for me. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this to the T. It was just not my flavor in dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I followed this recipe EXACTLY as written. I made the dressing an hour or so in advance to let the flavors meld ........ before serving I tasted the dressing ......... not to my liking ..... too much flavor from the ketchup. I quickly made up a traditional vinaigrette ...... salad was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I have been using this recipe for at least 20 yrs now and it's an easy and excellant recipe. The only thing that's different is the addition of almondsotherwi and the original also puts onion into blender with the dressing ingredientsotherwise the same recipe that's been made for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Just like the other reviews, this is a major home run. I made this for a paleo potluck and received many compliments. Instead of sugar, I use xylitol and also xylitol ketchup, and then I also substitute olive oil for the vegetable oil. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States