The Best Seafood Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These stuffed mushrooms are amazing. I have tried to make others from recipes on this site but this one really stands out. The whole package of cream cheese is needed as it makes the filling so creamy. I also increased the green onions to 3 and chopped them finely. I doubled the crab and shrimp which I pulsated in a mini-food processor/chopper first to make it finer. The finishing touch was a ton of freshly grated parmegiano reggiano on top of the mushrooms. I also cooked the mushrooms for a bit longer than what the recipe called for as I wanted the mushrooms to be fully cooked. Then I broiled for a few minutes until the cheesy tops were browned. Mmmmmm, good. This was a huge hit at the last family gathering. Everyone could not get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Great Recipe. Used 2 green onions; added a couple of dashes of Old Bay Seasoning; added parmesan cheese to the bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I brought this appetizer to a dinner party and everyone loved them. I should have made more. The only change I made was to leave out the shrimp (It's a texture thing with me). Also, I doubled the recipe because I wanted to make 24 mushrooms. It turns out that a single recipe would have easily filled 24 medium sized mushrooms, or close to it. I had a lot of left over filling. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Absolutely amazing! I made them into stuffed portobella mushrooms, which worked great and actually used 2 cans of tiny shrimp (6 ounce) and 1 can of crab meat (6 ounce) My boyfriend and I had 2 each and we were both stuffed: SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rusty's girl
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Didn't change a thing - these were awesome! I might add a bit of parmesan cheese to the breadcrumbs used for the last step! These will be added to my collection of appetizer favorites! Use a teaspoon to fill the caps. It makes it very easy to fill and shape the stuffing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I hate to be the party pooper, but I thought this was just OK. For me, it needed a little more kick -- more oomph -- not sure what. Was a little bland for my taste. Will probably keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Delicious! I added an extra green onion, and baked a little bit longer just to get the mushrooms really soft. This made enough to fill 24 medium sized mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I wish I could give these 4.5 stars! I saw no need for the egg yolk, so omitted it. My Christmas crowd enjoyed these, and I would make them again with a few changes--I think some parmesan mixed in would add a little something extra, and fresh chopped parsley would give nice color and flavor also. This did make much more filling than you need for 12 mushrooms--it would probably easily fill 24. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Yum! 'Nuf said. Well, almost :) I did add the following ingredients to the mix before stuffing the 'shrooms... Some grated parmesan, about 1/2 of the 'shroom stems, minced, and about a TBSP of red onion, also minced. I generously sprinkled more Parm' across the tops just before broiling, then sat back and accepted compliments for the rest of the day from my friends/family. Yum was the word and I was "da --it"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was just okay... I've been over the recipe many times making sure I didn't mess it up. I made it exactly the way the recipe called for. The filling was bland to me and it never really set. If I were to pick this up to eat, the dressing would just drip off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States