The Best Seafood Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
The filling for these mushrooms is very similar to a shrimp dip I've been making for decades. I LOVE that dip (could eat it with a spoon) so I knew I had a winner with these mushrooms. I took it easy on the garlic powder, using just half what the recipe directed. Better safe than sorry I thought. And it was a good call. I still tasted the garlic, but in a pleasant, delicate way. I sure wouldn't have wanted to taste it hours later, which I'm sure would have been the case had I used the full amount! Since I was making just enough of the these for Hubs and me, using both crab and shrimp wasn't practical as I didn't want to be left with partial cans of either. I used all canned shrimp and filled the slight amount I was short with frozen salad shrimp. I probably added more green onion than the recipe directed, but didn't measure. Just threw in what looked right to me. As for the bread crumbs, I didn't have Italian bread crumbs because I don't use Italian bread crumbs. I crushed some seasoned bakery croutons into crumbs which proved to be a delicious choice. I served these as part of a complete dinner, broiled lobster tails and "Red Potato, Asparagus, and Artichoke Salad, also from this site, but these were so good I could have made a meal of them alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I enjoyed this recipe very much. Only change I did was to top the mushrooms with shredded mozzarella cheese. Yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is a wonderful base recipe for stuffed mushrooms. It's creamy without being too creamy. I always read the reviews prior to making any recipe. I did take some of the comments into consideration when making it myself. I added about 1/3 C finely chopped vidalia (sweet) onion (omitting the green onion) along with some finely chopped fresh chives and fresh parsley from my herb garden. I also added 1 T Parmesan to the 1 T bread crumbs (I used whole wheat seasoned Italian). Also used baby bella/crimini mushrooms and finely chopped about 1/2 the stems and added them to the mixture.I used 1 pound of lump crab and omitted the shrimp. I also melted 1 stick butter with about 1 clove garlic finely minced and poured that into the baking pan before adding the stuffed mushrooms. Topped with a mixture of 1/2 C whole wheat Italian seasoned bread crumbs and added about 1/2 C Parmesan cheese to that. Baked them about 20 minutes then popped them under the broiler for a very short time til golden and lovely. As noted by others this recipes as it is, makes a lot more than 12 mushrooms, so be sure to have more on hand OR take the remaining filling and put it in a greased baking dish, then bake to heat through. Serve with your favorite crackers...YUM!!! I will add the adjusted/adapted recipe to my collection of favorite recipes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Used fresh lump crab meat. Delicious recipe. Had left over stuffing so I put it in a small crock and baked it 12 minutes. It made a delicious cracker spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
The best....Everyone thought they were catered. I tried to put some away for later but couldn't. At the end of the night, there was none left. I served seafood dishes with them and I scored big. Thanks for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
yummy! made as stated except for using fresh crab and shrimp. Not knock your socks off amazing, but pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This was my first time making stuffed mushrooms. Recipe is so easy and delicious. I substituted fresh shrimp and left out the crab because I was serving these with crab legs. Next time I will use both fresh shrimp and fresh crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
These were amazing. Added parmesan to the breading. Made 12 medium mushrooms. I had so much filling left over I chopped up the stems and added them to the filling, put it in a glass pan with some EVOL, covered with the crumbs and baked it. Made an amazing dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
amazing!!! make them all the time, best recipe I've ever tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
These were some of the best mushrooms I've ever had! I used shredded cheese rather than cream cheese. I also used shrimp and scallops. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States