The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Fool-proof recipe. A Classic. As others suggested i increased vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp but otherwise made as is. This one will remain in my Christmas cookie bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
These were the best sugar cookies I've ever made. I left the dough in the fridge over night, and I think that made a difference. Didn't change a thing. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Yes I love this recipe and yes I have tried different one's through out the year's and I been cooking for long time SO this is an A+ for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was fantastic. We all loved it they were gone right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
It looks really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I've been using this specific recipe for almost 2 years now and I figured it was due time to review! This is THE BEST cutout cookie recipe, hands down! I've used this for every holiday and even to make spectacular cookie bouquets! If you think it's nit sweet enough, just put on a confectioners glaze frosting and the UBER sweetness of the frosting goes famously with this cookie. Consistancy is perfect 100% of the time for me. You've got to follow the instructions... When baking, measurements must be precise. Roll dough out on granulated sugar rather than flour- it saves the texture of the dough and still keeps the dough from sticking to your counter top. Thank you Jill Saunders for this amazing cookie recipe, it will definitely be a new family recipe to be handed down for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Texture was fine, dough rolled out well, but tastes inexplicably like cheerios. Maybe more sugar would have helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I live in Japan. I'm using a Japanese oven (think Easy Bake oven on steroids) and medium flour. The first time I made this, I used a half butter designed for cooking and I hand blended everything. My batter came out runny and I made circle cookies that were more the consistency of cake (I cooked them for 8min until they were slightly brown). They were still pretty good and not greasy, but I really wanted to use my cookie cutters. The second time, I invested in butter (4$ for about 1.5 cups) and pulled out my electric whisk (I hate cleaning the thing), and what a difference it made. I chilled the dough for about 2hrs in the fridge and kneaded and rolled it to make the cookies. I took another review's advice and used sugar on my board to make the cookies not stick as I cut, and it made a big difference in texture and the cookies were really easy to cut. Even though my cookies were pretty thin, I had to cook them for about 20minutes, and some of them were still doughy when I put them on the rack to cool. The cookies from my second batch are greasy and kind of disgusting to touch, but they are really tasty and chewy! I just wish they had "cooked" all the way through, because I can't tell if they're chewy because they still need more time to cook, or if that's actually how they're supposed to come out. I whipped up a batch of pink glaze last night, so I'll coat the bottoms (where it's the greasiest) and see if the cookies can be made presentable for company eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Go no further in your search for a great rolled cookie recipe!!! I used this recipe this past Easter. I baked with my daughter lots and lots of Easter cookies. They were delicious and easy make. I refridgerated the dough overnight and thawed it on the counter about 20 minutes. It was pliable, thick enough to roll and work with and the recipe made so many tasty cookies. We glazed the cookies and sprinkled with colored sugars. I will use this recipe from now on. Looking forward to the next holiday to bake them! Fantastic recipe, pass it on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Awesome, I just added a bit more sugar and flour as some people suggested. The secret here is fridge time, I left mine in the fridge for 24 hrs and they came out brilliantly, I didn't even decorate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States