The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
There's no other way to say it. If your dough isn't right, you're doing it wrong. I didn't change anything at all about this recipe and it came out great. I'm taking a half batch with me to work (I didn't have time to roll out and cut the whole batch...this makes a loooot of dough!) today to share. The dough is a bit wet when you begin working with it, but it's OK because as you are rolling and adding all that extra flour, the dough doesn't turn into a brick. I even tried doing some letterpressed cookies with it and even they turned out great!! I was surprised how the details in the letterpressed cookies were pretty intact through baking. I didn't have time to decorate these either, and I am looking forward to having the time to actually decorate some of these beautiful and wonderfully tasty cookies! POST NOTE: I brought these to work, and becaise I was worn out from the holidays I had no time to do anyhting fancy with them. Served them totally plain, just cut into cute wintery shapes, and they STILL disappeared on me. No color, no decorations, no icing. So there ya go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Defiantly needed more sugar, I prefer my sugar cookies to be sweet but other than that not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Tried this receipe and loved it the first time. Cutting out the cookies were a breeze. I usually struggle with the dough sticking. Will use this receipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Listened to others and adjusted the flour and sugar. Also let the dough rest over night and worked in batches and rolled out using half flour and half powdered sugar. These are the best sugar cookies ever. The dough was very easy to work with. I rolled the cookies out on parchment as others suggested but found it very easy to lift and transfer each cookie to a parchment lined cookie sheet. I refrigerated each sheet until firm before baking at 350 for 8 minutes. I immediately slid the parchment sheet eith the cookies onto cookie racks to cool. These are so good you will love these even without icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Good for shapes.... Tasted terrible...completely flavorless. Awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is the best sugar cookie recipe I've tried so far! The dough was more workable than the other ones I tried. I refrigerated it overnight, and it actually made a lot more cookies than it said it would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I love these sugar cookies and have been making them for years. I thought it was about time to rate them. Make sure you chill the dough. Sometimes I make the dough a couple of days ahead of time, especially for Santa's cookies. I have used this recipe to insert dowels and make wands before and they turned out perfectly. They are soft and not too sweet, and perfect for buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Very quick and easy to make, didn't taste too bad and looked nice decorated, would recommend to someone in need of a quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made these for a party and they LOVED them!! I do not bake all the time, cooking is my thing, so I tried these and wow they were a hit! to the (experienced cook)who left 1 star? there's no way you can mess these up with these directions, you might want re check your status :) for the rest of you, try these, you may want to make a few dz more because you may need a few for fuel along the way ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this recipe but the dough isn't consistent, I followed the recipe to the T the dough looks like biscuit dough or something. Not firm and solid as should be. Any suggestions to fix this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States