The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
They turned-out well, however for the less experienced baker (me) could have benefited from more recipe notes. I looked at the minority of negative reviews and thought they must have done something horribly wrong. How could 6,000 people be wrong?! However when I was finished mixing my dough, it was more like a batter. It was sticky and soft - I couldn't imagine how it could roll-out. After it chilled for a few hours it was firm and ready to roll, however it warmed quickly and became sticky. I assume this is the butter melting at room temperature or as it's worked. My solution was to work with small batches, leaving the remainder in the fridge. Flour surfaces, and work quickly! After the cookies were baked they were the lightest, airiest sugar cookies I've ever made - and I always chose to make them for Christmas when I was young. I just noticed the healthier version... I might try those next (when I make them in another 10 years!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye Ackland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Simply the best sugar cookie, especially when iced with Sugar Cookie Icing by JBS Box (found on allrecipes.com -natch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I had issues. A lot of them puffed up and didn't hold their shape but some did keep their shape so now I have no real idea how I would tweak the recipe to work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Block

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I doubled the recipe with the included additions of sugar and vanilla. (I like to bake a lot at one time and freeze some for later). I added lemon zest and cardamom with a touch of almond extract. I chilled them overnight and rolled them out between parchment paper without using extra flour...they are SO tasty and kept their shape quite well. This will be my goto recipe from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My favorite sugar cookies. The only kind I will make now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I've been making sugar cookies for over twenty years and this is the best recipe I've ever found. They're not too sweet, so no sugar overload sensation when they're frosted. As a personal preference, I double the vanilla or add a little almond extract or lemon zest depending on the occasion. Those are just personal tweaks to an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daughteroftheKing
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I really liked this recipe. It was yummy and held its shape well. The only reason why I am giving it three stars is because the dough was really hard to work with. Maybe it was my rolling pin but no matter how much flour it stuck to EVERYTHING. My hands the cookie cutters the table the rolling pin. I mean everything. Maybe it was because I didn't leave it in the fridge for long enough? One hour is quite a long time I think. Anyway. The finished project was awesome! They also came slipping right off the pan. Thumbs up to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I've used this recipe for a few years and get rave reviews on it every time. People love that it isn't too sweet like other sugar cookies. I also use the top rated sugar icing recipe on this site to go with it. I have a small cookie business and by far this is the favorite of my customers for decorated cookies. I alternate between using vanilla and other flavors (ie. Almond, orange, lemon etc.) based on what I feel like having and/or customer requests. The cooking time varies based on my cookies' thickness but that's a product of my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Eagle Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States