The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Annabananna77
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
First time I had made sugar cookies & this will be the recipe I use everytime! It was easy to prepare, they held their shape really well while cooking & everybody loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Simply Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I was so excited to make these after the great reviews so I spent 4 hours making them (letting it chill, and icing takes a long time!) for my boyfriend and they came out TERRIBLE! I followed the recipe and even added that extra cup of sugar as recommended on here + 1 tsp of vanilla and they were still such a disappointment!! The cookies all puffed up and were bumpy on top and tasted like cardboard! What a waste of ingredients, I would not recommend these to anyone, don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These turned out great! I did follow advice and added 1/4 cup more sugar and 1 more teaspoon of vanilla. They were delicious...held their shape and were great to decorate. We used both icing and frosting, and they held up well. I have searched for a recipe, and have found the one! Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies? No way these are absolutely horrible! Sticky dough, won't roll out, doesn't taste good. Just don't waste your time. I'll stick to the tried and true recipe out of my Betty Crocker cook book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I took the advice of other reviewers and added an extra cup of sugar and an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract. I think the cookies would have been very bland if I didn't add those extra amounts. The cookies were easy to roll and cut so the baking was nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I was disappointed. The cut outs did not hold their form. So I took the dough, rolled it into balls and into cinnamon sugar making Snickerdoodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe is great. It converts very well to gluten free. I just used gluten free flour and baked them a little longer. The dough is a bit sticky when rolling out, but I just used a mix of flour and powdered sugar and that took care of the problem. The dough does warm up quickly so working with a small amount at a time works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
AWFUL! I followed this recipe to the EXACT and they tasted horrid! I didn't mind the cake-like texture but they are no where near sweet enough. No icing nor frosting could save it! So disappointed. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I read the "most helpful critical review", and I have to say, if this person is an "experienced cook", they should know that you need EXTRA FLOUR to roll out cookies! You need to use a good bit of flour. I use two sheets of parchment paper - flour the first sheet (on the bottom), put a chunk of dough pulled right out of the fridge/freezer, more flour on top of the dough, then the other piece of parchment paper. Roll out, cut with cookie cutters & bake. I bake mine for 8 minutes and the bottoms are slightly browned. This is a firm cookie, good for using royal icing on. They do puff up a bit, but the taste is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States