The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I took the advice of other reviewers and added an extra cup of sugar and an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract. I think the cookies would have been very bland if I didn't add those extra amounts. The cookies were easy to roll and cut so the baking was nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I was disappointed. The cut outs did not hold their form. So I took the dough, rolled it into balls and into cinnamon sugar making Snickerdoodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe is great. It converts very well to gluten free. I just used gluten free flour and baked them a little longer. The dough is a bit sticky when rolling out, but I just used a mix of flour and powdered sugar and that took care of the problem. The dough does warm up quickly so working with a small amount at a time works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
AWFUL! I followed this recipe to the EXACT and they tasted horrid! I didn't mind the cake-like texture but they are no where near sweet enough. No icing nor frosting could save it! So disappointed. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I read the "most helpful critical review", and I have to say, if this person is an "experienced cook", they should know that you need EXTRA FLOUR to roll out cookies! You need to use a good bit of flour. I use two sheets of parchment paper - flour the first sheet (on the bottom), put a chunk of dough pulled right out of the fridge/freezer, more flour on top of the dough, then the other piece of parchment paper. Roll out, cut with cookie cutters & bake. I bake mine for 8 minutes and the bottoms are slightly browned. This is a firm cookie, good for using royal icing on. They do puff up a bit, but the taste is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
i loved this recipe! the last time I made cut out cookies they turned out terrible, but these are awesome! best recipe ive seen yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
It's great just like it is! A good cookie to decorate any season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I disagree with the experienced cook, maybe that is why you are a cook and not a baker! These cookies are amazing. I have made them twice now. First time, they were to sticky, but I also did not leave them in the fridge long enough. I made these today with my daycare kids and added a little extra flour (I cut the recipe in half, because I am doing them for the kids) and a little extra sugar, and just pulled them out of the fridge about two hrs later and the dough is just perfect! Really are a great go to cookie! Now the kids will be bringing Easter cookies home to their family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I've tried many rolled cookie recipes and this is one of the best. The flavor is rich and buttery. I had no trouble with the dough, it rolled out easy, not sticky at all. The cookies held their shape in the oven and are firm and easy to frost. A "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My very first try with this fondant didn't go over great, but it was my fault. I used drop color instead of gel, which I think added too much moisture to it. When I made it the second time, I bought the Wilton brand color and BOOM! This was amazing! It took the color wonderfully, was so very easy to use, and it was very easy to "paste" fondant decorations on the cake I made using just a drop of water. I used powdered sugar instead of cornstarch or flour when rolling. I have a bakery friend who has asked for my recipe because of the ease and the wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States