The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ANNABELLE33
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is my ultimate go to signature cookie and every time I make these I am asked for the recipe by various people. The only thing I've started doing differently (and this was completely out of necessity) is to use half butter and half coconut oil rather than the full amount of butter. I did it one time because I ran out of butter and it was the best batch I have ever made. My big tip is to definitely refrigerate the dough at least overnight. This makes the dough very hard and difficult to roll. I've gotten around this by flattening out the dough before refrigerating and covering it in cling wrap on a big plate or tray rather than leaving it in a bowl. This has saved me a lot of frustration & time! I also make the cookies around 1/2 inch thick and they take 11 minutes to be done for me. I have no idea how they could be done in 6-8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Perfect! Made the dough the day before so it was nice and cold when I rolled it out, cookies came out beautifully at 8 mins with no spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Mercier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I have tried a very similar recipe recently that was great, but I lost it so decided try this one. While mixing the dough, it seemed extremely dry, but while rolling out, it was very sticky. The cookies were not as soft as I like, and the flavor wasn't exactly what i was looking for either. I think there was too much flour or not enough eggs or butter, but i can't pinpoint it. It's close, but not something people would beg for the recipe for, like claimed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Photo by Nicolec79
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This recipe is great! I omitted the baking powder and chilled the cut out cookies on sheets before baking. The cookies were probably a bit more dense than if I had used the baking powder.... but I wanted to be sure they kept their shape when baked. Great flavor too. I made large Easter cookies and ended up with approx 30 cookies. This is my new go-to cut-out cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have tried several sugar cookie recipes and this one is by far one of the best in taste and in workability. If the dough is chilled it is very easy to work with. I actually chilled mine overnight and the dough did not get too hard like other recipes do and you have to wait 15-20 mins to work with the dough because it crumbles too easily. I was able to work with this dough straight from the fridge. My cookies came out great! I lowered the baking temperature to 350 F instead of 400 F for 9 mins and they were just right, very lightly baked. I used sugar sprinkles to add colour and everyone loved them. This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I don't get the opportunity to bake often (I'm talking years!) and despite my ineptitude these turned out perfect! I gave them a little more bake time then suggested but my cookies were also on the larger side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I love this recipe! I bake a lot and this is the best I have found for sugar cookies!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Very easy, very good. I've tried numerous sugar cookie recipes, this has to be the best one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug McTaggart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
These are amazing!!! I have now been using this recipe for a few years and everytime they come out perfect! My 3 year old son loves making them with me as well! I do not alter the recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arias
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I don't see the point if using soo many eggs . In my opinion they do not add to flavour or change the texture of these cookies. I'v had similar results without .. Check all butter biscuit recipies uk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States