The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Absolutely perfect recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Really impressed. I'm a chef by trade and do a lot of baking, this is my first ever attempt at sugar cookies and considering i just ate 4 of them without frosting, ok 5...maybe 6, the recipe speaks for itself, these are not generally made in Australia for holiday occasions, but my husband is American and he always tells me how good his mum's are. They are a little chewy, sweet and have a beautiful vanilla flavour. I added 1 extra cup of sugar and 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla. I made the dough at 8am, it's 11 am now and I have some iced. I just couldn't wait overnight, I'm too impatient. I chilled the dough for an hour, then cut what I needed and chilled the cut cookies before cooking. Once out of the oven i let them stand for 20 minutes before popping them in the fridge so I could decorate a few. They hold their shape, and didnt crumble at all. I'm looking forward to baking the next 100, it seems there is a lot of dough still in the fridge. I did read another review that said ' mix the flour with a spoon, not the electric mixer' this is a must, otherwise I'm sure i would have crumbly tough cookie dough. Thank you for making my first attempt at sugar cookies an easy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Seriously, don't roll out the dough too thin. I've made this a few times. The time I did it most recently they turned out the best because I made a thicker cookie. 1/2 in roll out instead of 1/4 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have been baking Holiday cookies for over 50 years and collected hundreds of favorite recipes. This is absolutely THE BEST rolled sugar cookie recipe I have ever encountered. Follow the instructions explicitly for great results. Thank you so much to whoever contributed this recipe to Allrecipes.com! Gary S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
The taste is great, but even with the dough chilled for a full day it was too soft to cut out and transfer the cookies to a tray. I ended up just making balls and flattening them with my hands. I think to make cut out shapes rolling it directly on parchment paper would be crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Ive made these twice now and both times they turned out awesome. Even though I spinkle sugar on top for that extra sugar flavor that everyone is after (instead of using icing), I can eat them with no extra sugar on them. These will replace any future purchase for sugar cookies. Thankk you Jill Saunders for this yummy recipe ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I love these sugar cookies! I roll them thicker for softness and they turn out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luisa Love
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this recipe on 3/17/14 St. Patrick's Day. I read many reviews and most said to add and extra cup of sugar, extra tsp. of vanilla, and some lemon zest. I did add the extras and I'm glad I did. The texture of the cookie is like a "cake cookie", but its delicious! I gave it 4 stars because the dough is very very sticky. I made the dough in my standing mixer, I'm glad I did. If you don't have a mixer use a wooden spoon. I distributed the dough in 4 parts in plastic wrap (This will help when you are ready to roll out the dough, small sections is easier). I chilled for 2 hrs. Did not use rolling pin, too sticky. Just patted the dough down with my floured hands a bit and then cut my shapes. Baked my large cookies at 375 for 10 min. It made 25 large cookies. The cookies puff up quite a bit so the cookie did not hold its shamrock shape. I think that it might need an extra cup of flour or reduce the butter a little. I will make again, with some alterations for sure. I'll post an update if I do. Happy Baking Everyone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe is great.I didn't have any problems. Some people just can't follow directions is all.Just do what the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I thought that this recipe was great. I halved the amounts and still managed to make 34 shamrock cookies, the size of your palm plus 2 'extra blob' cookies. I would suggest refrigerating in a number of batches to prevent the dough from cooling too much. I found this the easiest recipe thus far to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States