The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Excellent! First time I've ever baked anything from scratch and they turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April Lynn
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Let me start by saying I've been baking to decorate for about 6 months, so I am by far not a professional or even a seasoned baker. I wanted to bake some nice cut-outs of fire truck and Dalmatians for an upcoming fundraiser and I needed a sugar cookie recipe that would keep it's shape. I read through the reviews last week, and based on the reviews I added a tsp of vanilla and a 1/4 cup of sugar to the recipe (because that was all I had left). They came out PERFECT. Keep in mind I chilled the dough for an hour, chilled my pans between use, and chilled my cut-outs for 5-10 minutes before baking. Thrilled about how my test batch came out, I just baked 5 dozen of them, but I added the other 3/4 cup of sugar that everyone seems so adamant about. BIG MISTAKE. Sugar liquifies and creates spreading. I upped the temp to 425, still spreads. 450 was a bit better, but then I had to cut the time because the edges were browning. So in essence, 6 minutes at 425 + 1/4 cup of sugar works very well, and 5 minutes at 450 + 1 cup of sugar is OK but not great. If you are concerned about the sweetness more than the shape of your cut-outs, go ahead and mess with the recipe. The bottom line is if you use it AS-IS, its perfect for cut outs that keep their shape wonderfully. If you're going to tweak it, be prepared to keep tweaking different aspects until you get it right. Also, taste is a matter of.. well taste. Don't blame the recipe because they weren't sweet enough for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roosevelt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
The first two times I tried this recipe it was a disaster! I was an extreme beginner, and had no idea what I was doing. I threw away perfectly good dough thinking the recipe was bad. But it was me! Now let me tell you what I did wrong: I rolled the cookies too thick. It created cookies that were cake-like and tasted terrible. I THOUGHT I was rolling them to the thickness the recipe called for, but it was still too thick. I didn't let it sit in the fridge long enough. I was being impatient. I didn't mix it in the right order (yes, there is one). I now add sugar to butter->mix; flour, salt and baking powder->mix; eggs and extract->mix into butter/sugar mixture; THEN add butter/sugar/eggs/extract to flour/powder. Finally, I didn't add enough Flour while rolling it. Also, knead the * out of it if it's too sticky- just keep adding flour (some sugar if it's a lot) and kneading, you'll save the sticky dough, and wont need to trash it or make new dough. Here's my tweaked version: 5 cups flour 2 tsp Baking Powder 1 tsp salt 3 eggs 2 tsp vanilla 3 cups sugar 1 1/2 cups softened butter Oven at 375 until I think they're good-and-done ;) I didn't tweak it very much, but as a beginner this worked for me. The added sugar gave more flavor (and probably calories!) and I reduced it by an egg, it may or may not have helped, but I'd like to think it did! I don't know all the magic terminology and what really happens when you switch out things, but this is just what I did to make it work. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
My family thinks these are the best sugar cookies, and I have tried a few!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These are awesome, but I always need to add a few tablespoons of milk to the dough while mixing, usually 4-5 T (as needed). In the end the dough is still too stiff for my mixer, so I hand blend in the last bit of flour. They're even better with double the vanilla and the zest of a whole lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
i am not a great baker, lots of the recipes i make turned out bad but this one was great they were gone fast and they didnt even have icing on them. i did change the servings and i made the cookies pretty thick so i only got like 6 cookies and i didnt leave it in the fridge for an hour i only did 15 mins then knead it but it was crubly so i put it back in but in the freeser and for 15 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was outstanding and came out perfect with the Sheldon cutters. However what are the measurements for the frosting exactly, to add more sweet into it. Also whats the measurements for the pasting,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NVM
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Ridiculously easy recipe with basic ingredients. My whole family likes the taste. Ranks way up there in my Christmas cookie baking list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NVM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farmersweetheart
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made two batches of this recipe back to back. The first one I followed exactly, and it was pretty sticky even after I refrigerated it for an hour. The cookies were still very good, but the second batch was much better. On the second batch I reduced one egg, and only used 3, but I increased the vanilla to 2 teaspoons. It was much less sticky and easily managed. I thought these were perfect. I was careful not to overbake them. They might not look done on top, but the bottoms were beautiful after just 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Absolutely perfect recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States