The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The BEST rolled sugar cookie. It keeps it's shape. The only problem is that it doesn't come near making 5 dozens. I have to double the recipe for that many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Honestly he only fault I had with this was the baking time. If I took them out in the required time they would have been mostly raw. I baked about 10 minutes and didn't alter the recipe at all. Before the adults ate I stated that they were from a new receptive and let me know how they liked it, and if needed I did have frosting if they wanted... No one needed the frosting not even the kids. I am not sure what type of sugar overload cookies most are eating but these are great, they are what I would expect to get at a good bakery. They are not as sweet as slice and bake however as a baker I find those way too sweet to really enjoy. They are thick and have a great texture. Great for kids to handle since they are thick and sturdy, they don't just crumble when they are eating and playing. I found no issues with the rolling as long as you floured the surface you were rolling on as well as the rolling pin. I also found working with the dough in portions and keeping the unused portion in the fridge while unused helped keep the dough at workable temps. I had mine in the fridge about 6.5 hours, so the longer in the fridge I think is better. Great recipe that made a bunch of kids and adults happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made this exactly as the recipe stated, let it chill overnight in the fridge, rolled them out, cooked according to the directions...and they spread like crazy!! Did not hold their shape at all. I even tried some as just circles and they went from 2" circles to 4.5" circles. Would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe lives up to it's name! I have tried many sugar cookie recipes and this is by far the best and will be my go-to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I love this recipe. It is so easy to work with and tastes great. I noticed someone complained that it was too sticky to roll? If you flour your rolling pin and surface (after chilling the dough) it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These cookies actually turned out really good. Followed the suggestions of other users and added a bit more flour and sugar and vanilla extract. Only thing I would say is that I made my cookies about 3 inches across (heart shaped) and 1/3 inch thick, and it was in the oven for about 7-8 minutes and it wasn't fully cooked, no browning. I'd probably do 10-12 next time. Otherwise, great recipe! And the dough is really easy to work with, which is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The cookies turned out alright in the end, but the dough was a nightmare to work with. It was way too sticky to roll out with a rolling pin - it just stuck to the pin, my hands, the counter, the cookie cutters, everything. I got it to work by heavily flouring my hands and hand-shaping the dough into hearts. After using all the ingredients, I was determined to at least get to taste the finished product. Once they were done, I did like that they held their shape well and were not easily broken. They taste fine, but I'd recommend frosting on top since they're not very sweet by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FauxShadaux
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I have never...NEVER...made flawless sugar cookies. Either I didn't like the taste, or I burnt them, or they weren't soft enough, or not easy enough to roll out...so many reasons. But THIS recipe IS IT! I didn't tweak it at all...and I may never. It was perfect. The cookies are so flawless and smooth and beautiful. Perfect texture. Wonderful flavor, and I am not a sugar cookie fan! I am of this recipe though. I will be looking for any and every excuse to make these cookies. I need to expand my cookie cutter selection now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is my new favorite cookie dough recipe! I'm baffled by the reviews that say the dough was too sticky. I put my dough in the freezer for maybe 30-45 minutes, and it was perfect. I didn't need any additional flour except to dust my work surface. My heart-shaped cookies held their shape and didn't spread, and the cookies were soft and chewy, rather than crispy, which is my preference for sugar cookies. I frosted mine with pink royal icing and gave them to friends and family for Valentine's Day. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States