The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I love this recipe. It is so easy to work with and tastes great. I noticed someone complained that it was too sticky to roll? If you flour your rolling pin and surface (after chilling the dough) it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
These cookies actually turned out really good. Followed the suggestions of other users and added a bit more flour and sugar and vanilla extract. Only thing I would say is that I made my cookies about 3 inches across (heart shaped) and 1/3 inch thick, and it was in the oven for about 7-8 minutes and it wasn't fully cooked, no browning. I'd probably do 10-12 next time. Otherwise, great recipe! And the dough is really easy to work with, which is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The cookies turned out alright in the end, but the dough was a nightmare to work with. It was way too sticky to roll out with a rolling pin - it just stuck to the pin, my hands, the counter, the cookie cutters, everything. I got it to work by heavily flouring my hands and hand-shaping the dough into hearts. After using all the ingredients, I was determined to at least get to taste the finished product. Once they were done, I did like that they held their shape well and were not easily broken. They taste fine, but I'd recommend frosting on top since they're not very sweet by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FauxShadaux
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I have never...NEVER...made flawless sugar cookies. Either I didn't like the taste, or I burnt them, or they weren't soft enough, or not easy enough to roll out...so many reasons. But THIS recipe IS IT! I didn't tweak it at all...and I may never. It was perfect. The cookies are so flawless and smooth and beautiful. Perfect texture. Wonderful flavor, and I am not a sugar cookie fan! I am of this recipe though. I will be looking for any and every excuse to make these cookies. I need to expand my cookie cutter selection now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is my new favorite cookie dough recipe! I'm baffled by the reviews that say the dough was too sticky. I put my dough in the freezer for maybe 30-45 minutes, and it was perfect. I didn't need any additional flour except to dust my work surface. My heart-shaped cookies held their shape and didn't spread, and the cookies were soft and chewy, rather than crispy, which is my preference for sugar cookies. I frosted mine with pink royal icing and gave them to friends and family for Valentine's Day. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I am not a rolled cookie girl - at all. In fact I don't own a rolling pin, but a wine bottle worked just fine! Lol i have to say this recipe was awesome! T was easy to throw together. I chilled overnight. I followed the reviews that said to knead the dough before "rolling" lol as its very hard. I used icing sugar instead of flour as suggested. The dough made perfect chewy cookies as I rolled to 1/2 inch. My 4 year old son actually was able to do most of the work by himself it was so easy... HOWEVER, make sure you get these cookies OFF the pan right away! DON'T let the cool o n the pan or you'll never get them off in one piece! Would definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I have to agree with another poster. This dough comes out way too sticky and soft. I chilled it for two hours prior to rolling it out to cut and the dough was too soft and sticky to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I really can't believe that anyone would think these are not sweet enough. Maybe (and it's a big maybe) if you plan to not put anything sugary on them by way of decoration, but if you plan to ice, frost, or sprinkle them they are PLENTY sweet as is. Overall I thought this recipe was pretty good, but not a revelation. I chilled the dough and had no problems handling it. The first pan I made I rolled out with powdered sugar instead of flour as some suggested--these were very tasty on their own but way too sweet to put icing on top of. For the next batches I used flour instead. Also, as some have said, these cookies puff up a lot so I started to roll them very thin so that they would hold their shape a little better, which worked well even if I liked the consistency of the thicker cookies better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I pulled this one thinking that it will do for a kid's elementary class. I was so surprised!! I love this recipe. It rolls beautifully and is the most forgiving dough I've ever worked with. Only one thing I change: use powdered sugar to roll out the dough; the cornstarch doesn't leave the unpleasant residue flour does and the slight hint of sugar left is a benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States