The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Really good, taste a little like flour though so icing is recommended. If you roll it out to 1/2" you may need to increase baking time to 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is my go-to recipe for rolled sugar cookies. I make no changes to the recipe and they have been consistently perfect. Great texture and easy to work with. When cooked, they are nice and firm for kids to decorate, but softer than other cookies. Love this recipe. I have tried adding a little almond extract once and it was delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I added a bit extra sugar and cut down a wee bit on the flour. Then I colored some sugar red and rolled out some of them on that, cut out heart shapes, flipped them over and baked them. They look great. Then I rolled out the last few in cocoa powder, cut out and flipped them and baked. They look good too. Havent tasted anything but the dough yet, but it tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
dont know why it has good reviews, didnt like the flavor or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Molin
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made half the recipe and that was enough for the short attention span of a nine year old who was rolling them out, cutting out and decorating. That made two cookie sheets which is plenty for a family that is not big on sugar but loves to celebrate! A little on the too sweet side especially after adding the icing and coloured sugar on top, so I will reduce the sugar next time. They're not called sugar cookies for nothing. Other than that the recipe is great as it is. I used almond flavouring instead of vanilla because that's all I had. Watch the oven like a hawk after six minutes. Some of the thinner ones need to come out. We "sanded off" the little bit of the lightly burned bottoms when needed with a cheese grater. Great way of spending quality time with children. Oh, and we put the dough between plastic wrap to roll out and had no problem with it sticking to the rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Molin
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made half the recipe and that was enough for the short attention span of a nine year old who was rolling them out, cutting out and decorating. That made two cookie sheets which is plenty for a family that is not big on sugar but loves to celebrate! A little on the too sweet side especially after adding the icing and coloured sugar on top, so I will reduce the sugar next time. They're not called sugar cookies for nothing. Other than that the recipe is great as it is. I used almond flavouring instead of vanilla because that's all I had. Watch the oven like a hawk after six minutes. Some of the thinner ones need to come out. We "sanded off" the little bit of the lightly burned bottoms when needed with a cheese grater. Great way of spending quality time with children. Oh, and we put the dough between plastic wrap to roll out and had no problem with it sticking to the rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Good. I adjusted ratios to 3c sugar, 2t vanilla and 2t salt. Then they were DELICIOUS!!!! Sturdy texture on the outside for decorating or sugaring(b4 baking)and stacking, fluffy on the inside. Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne Kathryn Daily
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Absolutely amazing cookies, especially when paired with the top rated Sugar Cookie Icing recipe on here! I was skeptical when my dough was really sticky, I didn't believe it would work that way so I added more flour. I froze it for about an hour and kept it frozen while I worked on rolling and cutting, breaking off pieces as I went. At first I baked 350 for 10 min as someone suggested then did the 400 for 8 mins.. Perfect! Didn't spread, they were perfect! I think it would have worked well without the extra flour too so next time I won't let the sticky dough intimidate me, just go with it! Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kathryn Daily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I guess I stand alone here, but I didn't think this recipe was that wonderful. Yes, it held it's shape beautifully during baking, so that was nice. However, the cookies needed more sugar and possibly some more vanilla extract. They just don't have the regular sweetness I'd expect from a sugar cookie. Also - these cook FAST. The time in the recipe is much too long, even at 6 minutes. As soon as you see the edges even slightly browning, take them out and get them off the baking sheet quickly. I burnt my first batch following the recipe's time and not watching them closely. A+ for holding shape, C- for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie DeCampo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States