The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I was confused by the disparate reviews. Then I read about wasting 3 sticks of butter and had a lightbulb go off. I accidentally put in 1 1/2 STICKS of butter--not 1 1/2 cups of butter. I made it with home ground whole wheat flour and the texture was perfect! It rolled wonderfully, thanks for the powdered sugar suggestion, I have never tried that before. Could use some almond extract or some other flavoring and definitely needs icing! I guess I can give it 4 stars, but my mistake may have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter. The cookies were cake like in texture and also somewhat sweet. Perhaps a little less sugar and fewer eggs might make them better. They weren't awful but just not great. I wouldn't want to share this recipe or rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! I don't know how so many people gave it a terrible review...It was wonderful all-purpose cookie. I have been in the baking/food business for MANY years and this cookie tops them all! I made my own icing and I dipped them...not painted as the recipe says. Make sure you follow the chill time...more if possible, and you should have no problem withit rolling out whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Tiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Love these cookies! Very tasty and not too sweet. They're soft, and they keep cutout form fairly well. Easy to manage dough after refrigerating over night. I use half butter, half lard and 375 degree oven. 5 dozen gone in 4 days. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These were perfect! I am not a fan of making sugar cookies, but my boys begged me to make them with them this Christmas, and they were so easy and rolled so nice, I will be making them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catie's Confections
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this with great results. Tip- roll on parchment paper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I made these last night for a baby shower. They were very easy to make and taste good. I have not iced them yet (that's tonight's project) but I did notice that the first batch was a little thicker than I wanted...more cakey. They felt like pancakes! The next time I rolled the cookies and made them thinner and they were perfect. So if you want a cookie that is more thin and crispy, roll them out pretty thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Perfection! I added 2 tsp of vanilla, per the other reviewers suggestions. These dough was the perfect consistency for rolling and cutting. I let the dough chill in the fridge for 2 hours and then took it out of the fridge about 5 minutes before I was ready to roll. I also put the pan of cutouts in the freezer to chill for about 3-5 minutes to help them retain their shape. Great flavor and perfect for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Best sugar cookie I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
They were super delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 6,283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States