The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I just couldnt help but come back and write a review, ABSOLUTELY the Best sugar cookies I've made! And yes be sure to carry copies of the reciepe with you. I made them for my niece's birthday party. So I made them shaped bigger, and kept them thicker before baking them. And they turned out absolutely fabulous! They were perfect to decorate, and wrap. Thank You allrecipes for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Best Sugar Cookie recipe EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin10101
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is a perfect sugar cookie recipe. I've tried a couple of variations, and the recipe - as written - is perfect. I have given the recipe out per request over 15 times. I use a rolling pin with discs on the ends to ensure even dough at 1/4" thick. I also make an entire sheet of each cookie cutter that I'm using so they all cook evenly. This is a great recipe for decorating. Sometimes I use royal icing, other times I use a corn syrup icing. A hot oven is key. Wait until your oven is nice and hot before you put the cookies in. The dough sets quicker and you won't have too much spreading. Also, if you add another cup of sugar as some recipes have suggested, the cookies tend to spread a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These tastes great especially when I added in lemon zest but I'm afraid that the texture didn't come out normally at 8 mins max for the cook time. It was a bit chewy and rubbery instead of nice and well... Grocery store bought cookies.. Of course it might of had something to do with the lemon zest I added into there. I doubt that... The taste is lovely but my first time baking cookies and the texture was important to me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh Charlton Cornelius

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
It is probably user error or changes in the humidity level, but these do not consistently turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was easy and had simple ingredients. This recipe makes a couple dozen medium rolled cookies. Great for holidays! These are also fun to make and the "glossy sugar cookie icing" recipe is fantastic with these cookies. Follow directions, and chill the dough. I get so busy at Christmas time that I sometimes leave the dough in the fridge for a couple days, wrapped in plastic wrap, and my cookies still come out perfectly. Yummy and simple, best ever for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I was confused by the disparate reviews. Then I read about wasting 3 sticks of butter and had a lightbulb go off. I accidentally put in 1 1/2 STICKS of butter--not 1 1/2 cups of butter. I made it with home ground whole wheat flour and the texture was perfect! It rolled wonderfully, thanks for the powdered sugar suggestion, I have never tried that before. Could use some almond extract or some other flavoring and definitely needs icing! I guess I can give it 4 stars, but my mistake may have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter. The cookies were cake like in texture and also somewhat sweet. Perhaps a little less sugar and fewer eggs might make them better. They weren't awful but just not great. I wouldn't want to share this recipe or rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! I don't know how so many people gave it a terrible review...It was wonderful all-purpose cookie. I have been in the baking/food business for MANY years and this cookie tops them all! I made my own icing and I dipped them...not painted as the recipe says. Make sure you follow the chill time...more if possible, and you should have no problem withit rolling out whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Tiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Love these cookies! Very tasty and not too sweet. They're soft, and they keep cutout form fairly well. Easy to manage dough after refrigerating over night. I use half butter, half lard and 375 degree oven. 5 dozen gone in 4 days. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 6,289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States