The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe is a solid standard sugar cookie, excellent for making with children. Needs frosting, as they are not overly sweet. We used a buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I liked the taste of the cookies but they came out so huge & I followed the recipe, I am not sure what went wrong. Also please someone tell me if they are supposed to come out a little hard or no?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a perfect recipe for rolled Sugar Cookies for holiday Cookie Cutter cookies! The flavor and texture are great, really delicious, unlike some cookie-cutter cookies. And the recipe makes the perfect dough for rolling and cookie-cutter cutting. For me, the recipe made 75 medium size cut cookies - all the holiday shapes. They came out beautifully. Don't spread or lose shape. And again, great flavor. I also used the Sugar Cookie Icing recipe that matches/goes along with this cookie recipe, and it is also PERFECT. Good flavor, not overly sweet. Only adds to the quality of the cookie. Dries quickly. Perfect texture for icing the cookies accurately/carefully. If the icing thickened too much while I was icing so many cookies, with different colors, I added a little light clear corn syrup. Works beautifully. Thank you. This is my go to Sugar Cookie/Cookie-Cutter holiday cookie recipe from now on. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great recipe! I'm not an experienced baker, but this recipe was easy to make and IS delicious! Best sugar cookies I have had. Thanks to the reviewers' tips on adding the extra flour for longer workability, adding almond extract, and rolling with confectioners sugar instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I am by no means a novice when it comes to making cookies but these were terrible. They taste like sweet biscuits. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
First of all I want to say that the way my cookies came out was im sure of no fault of this recipe. Though I have been baking for 40 years I have never attempted sugar cookies. I finally decided on these because of so many positive reviews. With that said, I want to say my cookies did not come out perfect but I can see with more practice I may be able to get them to as good as some of the positive reviewers. I added 1 extra cup of sugar and 1more teaspoon of vanilla the flavor of the cookies were excellent. My dough was not sticky at all. I didn't need to roll them out on parchment paper and they cut out and retained their shape perfectly. I did find that rolling them out using confectioners sugar caused them to be sticky from the bottom after cooking them so I switched back to flour which was much better. Also after cooling they became very crunchy to the point I was afraid I might break a tooth. I'm not sure what caused that maybe not making them thick enough? I did monitor my time doing some at 5,6,&8 mins. But I just checked and all are as crunchy. So im not sure how to fix this. I'm still giving the recipe 5 stars because the problems were with something I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammydarlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
We made these cookies, loved them! They stayed their shape and that said, easy to decorate! And if that wasn't enough they taste great! Moist and amazing! The best sugar cookie I've ever tasted!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great tasting! Makes a bunch of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I've always struggled with rolled sugar cookie recipes, but this one is the easiest. The dough is firm enough to hold shapes, but pliable enough not to break as you roll it. And they have a good flavor - they don't taste like chalk :) Love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
They were delicious, but they didn't keep the shape as well as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 6,234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States