The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I read multiple reviews and decided to give these cookies a try. I am using the kitchen in my university residence but I know the temperament of the ovens by this point and rarely have issues. I mixed the dough by hand since I don't have an electric mixer, I tasted the dough before I put it in the fridge and it was incredibly bland so I added more sugar and vanilla in and got it to an ok place. When I was rolling them they were very sticky but I just added some flour and got them rolled out, I did notice they were getting very soft especially considering the kitchen was very cold. I put some in the oven and boy did they spread! I was expecting them to hold their shape but they definitely didn't. I put the cut cookies in the fridge thinking the butter needed to cool down. When I took them out to bake them it was worse they still spread and this time they separated. Thinking I maybe rolled them too thin ( even though I went for the 1/2 inch thickness) I rolled the other cookies into balls. This was so much worse! The edges burnt in 4 mins but the middles were completely raw. I really tried my best but these were hopeless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I love the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Easy to make, roll, cut and Bake with no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very delicious and easy. I did add more vanilla and powdered sugar. Kept dough in the freezer and only made a few at a time to enjoy fresh. Since I have never found a rolled recipe so tender I will alway use this recipe for a sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made these cookies in football shapes for a football themed party. They were such a hit. I followed the recipe exactly. Its important to keep the dough well chilled, and cut them nice and thick. They looked like bakery cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is the best sugar cookie recipe I've ever used! I made Christmas cookies, and was pleasantly surprised that it made 5 dozen cookies. The cookies didn't crumble, weren't to sweet or dry. They are definitely worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
As a beginner, I found it excellent ! I've made it twice and though I had to add some more flour to make it less sticky, both times were a complete success. I highly recommend it, all my family and friends loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
These really are great. I had to watch my baking time a bit as some of my darker pans needed removing from the oven before the minimum time specified. I found even on the lighter pans the min time was best for my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
These tasted ok but were more cake-like in texture than what I was looking for, and they puff up quite a bit when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Bit too sweet. It was great for my first sugar cookie recipe, but I've moved onto a less sweet version for my future cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Bozman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States