The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
These took 4.5 cups flour and rolled out perfectly. I used them to make linzer type cookies and cookie cups using a mini muffin tin. Delicious. Crisp but not hard and buttery. I loved that the were not too sweet either. Perfect base for a jam filling or chocolate dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
These turned out spectacular! I made these for a camp activity for the kids to decorate with icing and sprinkles. I chilled the dough overnight and had no problems with stickiness or cracking dough, using flour to roll it out, though I might try with powdered sugar next time as per suggestions. They cut easily and lifted from the counter even just with my hands, no spatula required. My oven runs cold, so it took more like 12 minutes for them to fully bake. I honestly don't think I'd want to add the extra sugar, especially if I'm icing them, it would be far too sweet! The texture was deliciously soft, and I'll echo what others have said... They taste store-bought, but in a good way! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Best sugar cookies I have ever made. Easy to roll out and taste delicious. I did add an extra teaspoon of Vanilla Extract and an additional 1/4 teaspoon of Baking Powder. Have already shared this recipe with my sisters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany Chen
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
These cookies are so good, there won't be any left by the end of the day! I made them for a party and many people complimented me on these cookies and someone even asked me for the recipe! I did add the additional cup of sugar and teaspoon of vanilla extract that the other reviewers recommended though. I will say that it's not easy for the cookies to maintain shape when baked and they're actually pretty hard to use cookie cutters with as well because they're so soft, even when just taken out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Chen
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
LOL @ the few negative reviews on this recipe. It's perfect as is. Folks complaining about the stickiness are probably working with the dough right after mixing it - instead, you've gotta let it chill for a few hours or even overnight if you're not in a hurry. I have never even needed to use flour or sugar when rolling it out. This has become my go-to recipe and gets tons of compliments from fam and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I didn't quite believe that these would be incredible - but they were SO DELICIOUS and very easy to make. One reviewer noted that the dough is too sticky - yes, it is VERY sticky, but I had no problems using it and making perfectly formed cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I just have to say this recipe didn't stand out to me to much while looking it over but decided too try it anyways. I always have to tweek recipes, dairy free and all, but just gave to say when my husband kept coming back to the kitchen for another cookie I decided five star this one! I also didn't have the heart to tell him the cookies were for our daughter's bake sale...just an excuse to make more and hope the recipe turns out as good again! I did chill over night and then let thaw at room temp slightly and then kneaded the dough. I also rolled them out using granulated sugar and not flour. They held their shape nicely when rolled and baked puffy and beautiful! Thank you for this recipe I will surely be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I love these they are absolutely amazing everyone who tries it in my family just wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
These freeze well too! make early for the holidays. I subtract half cup of flour and sub with baking cocoa for chocolate flavored. and stack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I just made these two times within a week. They are next to perfect. I did use just a bit less sugar. The dough was great to work with. I iced them with butter cream frosting. Everyone loved them. These would be hard to beat. Thanks for sharing your recipe Jill. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States