The Best Relish I've Ever Had Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I used half the sugar called for and it was plenty sweet. Like someone else said, the flour gives it a weird gluey texture that isn't very nice. Once it's in a sandwich it's fine, but I'll try a different recipe next time I make relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Thanks this recipe is very srumpcious.Canned 24 jars ,MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE ....LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time today and I LOVE it!Hoping to use it year after year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I didn't care for this, but thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I too have fond memories assiting my mother with this recipe in late summer early fall. We used the old hand grinder to grind the cucumbers and onions. We would have hambergers every Saturday for lunch and the relish would be a welcome topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This relish is everything i hoped for. I remember having a simular relish as a 4-6 year old at the soccer club. Im 31 now and so happy to have found this recipe. I have been searching for a long time. It tastes exactly as i remember. I may reduce the sugar a little next time, but thats a personl preference. The stuff i remember was just as sweet as this relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have never liked relish - until I made this. Absolutely outstanding! I used picklers, added mustard seed with two large sweet peppers (great color and taste!) and omitted the flour, and reduced the sugar slightly (not much). I can't wait to try this on my burgers and 'dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newaygo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Absolutely DELICIOUS!! Everyone LOVES it! It's like having bread and butter pickles in relish form! Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondam

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Falher, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I made this as the recipe recommended and it turned out great. I really don't have a lot to add about this recipe, except that it is a 'keeper'. Happy canning. Some recommended for hot dogs & hamburgers, however, I can add that I use relish in my tuna and chicken salad as well and I also use it with my beans & chili at times. Best wishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I just made this relish and although I know it's supposed to sit for 6-8 weeks, I tasted it warm and it already tastes very good; it can only get better! After reading all the other reviews (thank you!), I followed the one pound of cukes per pint recommendation and that seemed to work great. I used 3 very large onions instead of 4, and substituted one large red pepper for the 4th onion. I left the ginger out and substituted mustard seed instead. I ended up with almost 11 half pints. I can't wait to taste this again in a few weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States