The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Anytime I see someone use dried chilis in a recipe I know it is going to be more Mexican and less "Taco Bell". Authentic Mexican food is not sweet, and usually has more chilis and less tomato than Americans would think. I think this is a nice enchilada sauce. The dried anchos are integral. If you can't find a Mexican tiendita or a food store that sells them, it might be worth it to purchase them on line. They are dried, and last almost indefinitely in a sealed storage bag. Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dcjones
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I followed Christine's recipe EXACTLY and it turned out great!! I didn't take any short cuts, followed all the measurements and my enchiladas were delicious. The sauce is smoky, flavorful, and not too spicy. I'm so glad I tried this out! It's a permanent addition to my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I normally don't care for red enchilada sauce, and favor green instead. But this sauce is really great! I LOVED how this recipe wasn't tomato heavy! The beef broth works perfectly with all the chili flavors, and the seasoning is spot-on! After reading some of the reviews I got scared of burning the peppers, so i toasted them @350 for 3 min. I noticed that they darkened up a little bit, but definitely didn't turn black. Might be hard to tell if you burned them because the ancho chilies are already super dark, almost black already. I used 1 huge ancho, and 5 california chilies. Instead of covering the chilies with water, I used 2 cups of beef broth, and simmered them for 20-30 min. They really soaked up a lot of liquid, so I ended up still adding 2 more cups of broth. So total I used 4 cups broth, which happens to be an entire carton of beef broth. (perfect!) Once I got to blending everything, I also added one chipotle chili with a bit of adobo (from a can.) I didn't to that for heat, just to diversify the chili flavors. I added a little bit (1/4 cup) of caramelized onions to the blender, not that the recipe needed it. I just happen to be obsessed with onions, and can't seem to eat a meal without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vannaannabanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Christine, this was AMAZING! I knew I was doing something right when the sweet lady at the Mexican Market asked what I was making with the chilis, and when I told her enchiladas, she smiled brightly and told me that was the best way to go. I had a small dinner party so I made it ahead and refrigerated until I was ready to cook. Doubled the recipe for 18 enchiladas and had enough to serve on the side. Not a single drop left! Thanks for the tips. Was nervous about burning the chilis, but they were perfect. Mine took 2-1/2 minutes. Not sure why folks are concerned about the oregano, I did exactly what you wrote and my folks raved as they gobbled! I could hug you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This came out simply delicious modified a little extra garlic and used ancho chilies and chilies de Arbol but is definitely going to be used again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Excellent. Be careful not to burn the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I took the suggestion to place the chiles in the beef broth to soften to save time. After that place the broth and chiles and add'l broth into the blender. Wowzers! I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. It is exactly as stated "smoky and savory". Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Best enchilada sauce ever! So yummy, Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This stuff is delicious and super fast and easy to make, not to mention very inexpensive. Like others I heat up a cast iron skillet over medium heat and lay the chiles in there for just a few minutes. They'll get toasty and soft, making it easy to remove the stems and seeds. They don't need to soften for an hour - maybe 15 minutes in the boiling water. Throw everything in the blender and POOF! Excellent red sauce you can make your own with any number of changes or additions. I just made an enchilada casserole that's in the oven now and I can tell you this sauce will be a staple here. Thanks Christine for a most excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I made this recipe exactly! Hands down the best enchilada sauce ever!! I've even shared it with others who love it too. Make it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States