The Best Red Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is the best enchilada sauce I have ever tasted, from a restaurant or canned. Many people are unhappy with the one hour soaking time but my friend and I used that time to make chili rellenos and margaritas! I am so thrilled to never have to buy a can of unsatisfying sauce again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was so yummy! I added one seeded chipotle pepper for heat and smokiness. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Yummy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This sauce is awesome! I did not have ancho chilis, so I used a mixture of guajillo and chipotle chilis. Also did not have tomato paste, so I used a can of tomato sauce. It is so good that we were dipping chips into the pan of sauce. We had about a cup leftover after making our enchiladas and decided to turn the leftovers into a salsa. I did burn my first batch of chilis and had to throw them out. They roast very quickly. This recipe has been added to our list of favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was awesome!!!! My wife loved it my son loved it AND my mother in law loved it! Thank you Christine !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
this is an easy, excellent enchilada sauce. i only had safflower oil on hand, and i used the simmer-in-broth-instead-of-soak-for-an-hour shortcut, and i threw all the beef broth in at once stick-blended it on the stove, and it came out juuuusssst fine on top of enchiladas made with leftover turkey and squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spadooky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Soooo good!! Rich & spicy, but not too hot. My Mexican American MIL dislikes canned enchilada sauce, and was very impressed with this recipe. Very easy to make, and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Delicious like what you'd expect from a good Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Love this recipe. TIP: Find a produce/farmers market that roast chilies there on the spot while you wait (usually late summer). You can buy 1/2 to a bushel of chilies and have them roasted for you. Bring them home, let them cool, and bag up about 15 chilies, blackened skin and all, per quart freezer bag. When you need some for a recipe then thaw a bag or two, then clean and de-seed them. Roasted chilies goes great in so many dishes like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TranquilityCea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Followed recipe exactly. This was great with great flavor. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States