The Best Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This cake is the best. Came out great the first time. The only thing I changed was the amount of sugar. Instead of 3 cups I only used 21/2 and it was just right for me and the family. I will make this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Though I made a few changes the cake has turned out excellent,I used brown sugar instead of white and used butter, I never use margarine.I had no lemon extract .I added t tablespoon of hot water to the evaporated milk and no self raising flour so added 1/2tsp of baking soda and the cake turned out great,delicious ,it's really yum. Thank you for sharing this recipe it's a keeper for sure and super simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Photo by honeybee375
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very good recipe! I would keep an eye on it while baking. I turned down the temp as it was browning too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Cake baked withing 50-55 mins due to preheating the oven. I didn't like the idea of putting the cake in a cold oven. Nevertheless, the cake tastes great! And I like the crusty top, but I did cover the cake with a cookie sheet (didn't have any foil) to prevent over browning. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I can't say that this is not good BUT I didn't get what I was expecting. The texture was denser that a "traditional" cake but it wasn't reminiscent of a pound cake for me. I did enjoy the cake though. I was making it to go with strawberries and it was quite good. I used the bundt pan (that was so old it didn't have the size on it) and it filled the pan about 2/3 of the way full. It rose slightly over the pan but it did not spill over. Also, the top browned pretty darkly in comparison to the rest of the cake. I checked it right at an hour, and it was done, the full time would have burnt it for sure. It released nicely from the pan and was a nice even golden brown, nothing like the top. Sorry for the lengthy review, but often more than not I find these reviews so vague.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
needs a lot more baking time. had to cover with foil to stop it from overbrowning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I've tried this recipe this morning and it turned out very delicious! The only alteration I made is reducing the sugar.This recipe is totally a keeper!Thank you so much for sharing the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This cake came out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Wonderful cake. I used Earth Balance shortening; reduced sugar to 2 C; added poppyseeds (didn't measure, prbably about 1/2 cup). Everyone loved it! Very moist. Next time I may add more limon extract for a more intense lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is the BEST pound cake i have EVER made in my whole NINE YEARS OF LIFE!!!! THIS IS SOO GREAT!!! I LOVE IT! IT IS DELICIOUS AND VERY MOIST!!!!! GREAT GREAT GREAT! FIVE STARS!!! note: if you have a convectional oven, i do, only bake the cake for 50 minutes, if you have the convection option on. this is great i hope everyone finds this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States