The Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I normally go for the recipes with high ratings and pictures, but every once in a while I'll try a low numbered one and I'm glad I did this time. Followed this to the tee and it turned out just how I like potato salad, not too mustardee and not too creamy and sweet, just perfect. Give it a shot, I did and I'm glad for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I loved this recipe! I didn't add the black olives, but i did add the pepperoncinis. One thing that I was wondering before making this and would like to clarify for anyone else contemplating this recipe is that the pepperoncinis did NOT make the salad spicy at all! Instead, they added the PERFECT ammount of flavor(and I used pretty spicy pepperoncinis). The recipe didn't say what to do with the peppers, so I diced them finely and removed the seeds, and it was gorgeous! My family has zero tolerance for spicy food, and they loved it! This is easily the best potato salad recipe I have ever come across. For best results, refrigerate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Very, very good. I made this early this morning and let it sit and marinate for the rest of the day, until dinner. I used a double dose of the Dry Ranch Seasoning mix from this site(minus the salt and plus dill) instead of prepared ranch and used chopped pickles instead of relish. I don't have celery seed, so I omitted it and added a couple chopped stalks of celery. This recipe didn't specify which kind of onion to use, so I used a quarter of a red I had on hand. You really don't need 1 1/2 tsp. of salt in this, the flavor in this salad is just fine with just a couple nice shakes. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I have been searching FOREVER for a really good potato salad recipe. Finally, I found one! I made it early in the morning and let it refrigerate for about 8 hours before we ate--it was really good. However, the next day was just fantastic. If you have the time, try to make this a day ahead. One note, one reviewer stated that the recipe was too salty (even though she didn't follow the original recipe!)...it does seem salty before you refrigerate it, but once the flavors blend, everything evens out. If you're worried about salt, I'd cut it in half and then check before you serve. Thanks Cheftini :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and did not add the optional ingredients.....BEST POTATO SALAD I've ever had!! This was the first time I've made potato salad too! Couldn't believe how great it turned out.....never imagined it to be better than my moms...now she has some competition about who's bringing potato salad at our next cook out...*winks*! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gurley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is a great potato salad. It is not too mustardy and the ranch gives it a zing. I am not giving it a 5 star because as written it is not my favorite. I am giving it a 4 star because it is darn good and deserves the rating. I am so tired of people giving a recipe a 1 star rating when they have not tried the recipe. But yet they cut it down because it has a high fat content. These people need to back off. I have lost 177 lbs without surgery. I do not need to have someone lower a rating on a recipe because they can't handle the fat. Better they should cut down on their portions. It is not about the fat it is about putting down the fork. So for those of us who can practice portion control and know that fats can contribute flavor, give this one a try. It is fairly traditional with a bit of a twist. ENJOY it. I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is the best potato salad ever! I did add the pepperoncini's and I did not add the black olives. This is so good because it's more mustardy unlike the typical potato salad with too much mayonnaise flavor. Gets better tasting as leftovers too...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I've never made potato salad, and decided to make this one for a company 4th of July picnic. Everyone loved it. Fantastic recipe. I followed the recipe exactly but left out the two optional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Yum Yum! Instead of relish I added chopped pickles. I added red bell pepper and peas. I added olives but no pepperoncinis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Delicious! This recipe was good enough to make for my visiting mother in law and she loved it, which is saying alot. Thanks so much for the great new way to make potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States