The Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Made it yesterday. Everyone loved it. The only changes were added celery and bacon and left out the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this for to go along with our BBQ ribs and it was perfect. It is a nice alternative to the all mayo salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BPEREZBMW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was a great potato salad. Made it for a get together with the in-laws and it was the first dish to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe Labor Day weekend for the 1st time minus the black olives & it turned out marvelously!!! My husband doesn't even like potato salad but he enjoyed this.. Thank you all for sharing ?? ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is a great base that you can change up to have whatever ingredients you like in it. I was surprised how nicely the black olives fit in, but still haven't been brave enough to try the pepperoncini. This is the perfect way to hard boil eggs - I would just add that if you crack the shells on the eggs before running them under cold water, they will cool faster and won't have any gray around the yolk. FYI, 10 red potatoes is 3 lbs and I used about 1/2 cup onion. I always look at what the Cook's Illustrated Kitchen has to say about traditional recipes and their advice is good - use russet potatoes cut into 3/4" cubes, bring to boil, add 1 Tblsp of salt and simmer for 8 minutes. Drain and let stand in bowl with 2 Tbslp of vinegar for 20 minutes. It really gets the flavor into the potatoes and prevents them from breaking apart since you don't have to cut them afterwards. Cut the salt in the recipe in half, since you have salt in the potatoes and choose red onion. The second time I made this, I doubled the olives (2 2.25 oz cans), left out the celery seed, chopped 3 dill pickle spears instead of using pickle relish (funny flavor in the relish) and used sour cream instead of ranch dressing because I had some leftover in the frig. I really didn't miss the ranch dressing, so I think if you don't have any on hand, go ahead and use mayo or sour cream. Next time I will put even more pickles in - I like the tang and the crunch. If you like celery, I say add the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Delicious traditional potato salad with a slight twist. It's creamy and eggy and mustardy. Just delish! The ranch adds a little extra something without being overwhelming. Very very good!! I do not add the optional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
First time ever making potato salad and everyone RAVED about it. I used real celery instead of celery seed but everything else is as the recipe said (minus the optional ingredients). I may use more potatoes so it's more "potatoy" because mine seemed to have a little excess creaminess with the mayo and ranch dressing. This is my new recipe and I'm making it again tonight for a Boy Scout outing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janell Freeman Osborn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent Potato Salad. Made it exactly as the recipe called for except I used Celery Salt instead of seed because that is what I had here. I don't think the optional ingredients are optional. I think those ingredients is what sets this recipe apart from the rest. Going to be serving it at a BBQ this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taskins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Rockwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My family love potato salad. I'm searching for a great recipe and unfortunately I'm still searching. I made this as stated except I cooked the onions (migraine trigger). It was flavorful in the beginning but when you keep eating it the taste does change. Was also salty the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica watkins

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States