The Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I usually don't follow other's recipes . I mostly do my own thing season to taste as I prepare. I like to look for new things to make and the different variations of the things I do. I've been making this type of potato salad for years . Never have I added ranch dressing to it. This time I did. Wow !! What a wonderful difference it made. This is the best potato salad I've ever made an eaten . Thank you for posting it. It tastes just like my mom's did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Great flavors. I make this quite a bit and its always a hit. I do use Dijon mustard instead of yellow, just because I like the extra kick. Otherwise, I follow it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was as close to my grandma's home make potato salad as I have ever come. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daliwolf Bacon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Love this recipe but one of my biggest complaints for recipes like this is the lack of measured ingredients. ..."one chopped onion" or " 10 red potatoes" is too vague imo. not all veggies are created equal so it becomes a trial and error exercise. Please recipe posters include measurements....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Made it yesterday. Everyone loved it. The only changes were added celery and bacon and left out the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this for to go along with our BBQ ribs and it was perfect. It is a nice alternative to the all mayo salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BPEREZBMW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was a great potato salad. Made it for a get together with the in-laws and it was the first dish to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe Labor Day weekend for the 1st time minus the black olives & it turned out marvelously!!! My husband doesn't even like potato salad but he enjoyed this.. Thank you all for sharing ?? ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is a great base that you can change up to have whatever ingredients you like in it. I was surprised how nicely the black olives fit in, but still haven't been brave enough to try the pepperoncini. This is the perfect way to hard boil eggs - I would just add that if you crack the shells on the eggs before running them under cold water, they will cool faster and won't have any gray around the yolk. FYI, 10 red potatoes is 3 lbs and I used about 1/2 cup onion. I always look at what the Cook's Illustrated Kitchen has to say about traditional recipes and their advice is good - use russet potatoes cut into 3/4" cubes, bring to boil, add 1 Tblsp of salt and simmer for 8 minutes. Drain and let stand in bowl with 2 Tbslp of vinegar for 20 minutes. It really gets the flavor into the potatoes and prevents them from breaking apart since you don't have to cut them afterwards. Cut the salt in the recipe in half, since you have salt in the potatoes and choose red onion. The second time I made this, I doubled the olives (2 2.25 oz cans), left out the celery seed, chopped 3 dill pickle spears instead of using pickle relish (funny flavor in the relish) and used sour cream instead of ranch dressing because I had some leftover in the frig. I really didn't miss the ranch dressing, so I think if you don't have any on hand, go ahead and use mayo or sour cream. Next time I will put even more pickles in - I like the tang and the crunch. If you like celery, I say add the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States